BookBrowse Reviews Tiger Hills by Sarita Mandanna

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Tiger Hills

A Novel

by Sarita Mandanna

Tiger Hills by Sarita Mandanna
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2011, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2012, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A magnificent debut set in Southern India at the end of the nineteenth century

The love triangle plot, a beautiful woman torn between a predictable, safe suitor and an alluring "bad boy", is probably as old as stories themselves. Such a love triangle is at the center of Mandanna's novel, but although her expansive plot centers on a potentially shopworn conflict, this talented debut novelist continually defies expectations and enriches context to create a powerful story that seems both fresh and timeless.

For one thing, Mandanna skillfully arouses sympathy not only for Devi, the lovely young woman at the triangle's apex, but also for her lovers, the tiger hunter Machu and, particularly, the quietly thoughtful Devanna. Devanna, a shy boy, brought under the wing of a German missionary with complicated motives, finds himself terrorized at medical college, surviving only by virtue of his devotion to his studies and his abiding love for his childhood friend Devi. Although the ramifications of Devanna's single despicable action drive many of the events of the novel's latter half, readers have by that point of the novel gained a sympathy for him that it will take many of the other characters another several decades--and several hundred pages--to acquire. The way the romances build, only to collapse on themselves repeatedly, is all the more heartbreaking by virtue of the author's skillful use of dramatic irony and ability to arouse reader's sympathies.

Of course, it doesn't hurt that this compelling plot is built against a backdrop of such evocative beauty and complexity. The story stretches from 1878 to 1936 and takes place primarily in the Coorg region, a remote, relatively inaccessible area of Southern India, bordered by the mountains and the sea. These decades mark a time of rapid and momentous change worldwide, but in India particularly. The powerful, fiercely independent Coorgs [see sidebar], who had formerly been fairly isolated by virtue of geography and choice, find themselves participating in an increasingly global world and swept up in increasingly global concerns and conflicts. Through it all, however, the land remains both beautiful and changeable, full of potential to enrich or destroy. Mandanna describes its riches and beauties in language equally lush and colorful.

Tiger Hills is more than just the story of a love triangle. It's also a poignant and provocative reflection on change over time, on the ways in which loss and memory can engulf the living, on what remains when so much is lost. "'Love is breath, yes,'" reflects Devi, in words that reveal more truth than even she knows, "'but also what follows after, when all breath is done, when all that remains is silence. Love is water, yearning for the sea. It is the tree that must remain rooted while reaching for the sky. It is shadow, freighted with absence, the recesses where joy blossoms no more.'"

Propelled by romance, colored by loss, enriched by authentic details, Tiger Hills is both the saga of a people, and a land and the equally moving story of an inimitable woman and the two men who love her.

Reviewed by Norah Piehl

This review is from the April 6, 2011 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Kodagu

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

Chance favors only the prepared mind

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.