BookBrowse Reviews The Illumination by Kevin Brockmeier

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Illumination

A Novel

by Kevin Brockmeier

The Illumination by Kevin Brockmeier X
The Illumination by Kevin Brockmeier
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2011, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2012, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Judy Krueger

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A novel about human pain and the beauty within all of us

The Illumination is a work of sheer imagination laid over the gritty reality of modern life. Using the device of a journal of love notes that passes through the hands of six different characters, Kevin Brockmeier examines questions about pain: how does pain affect us, how do we deal with it, what part does it play in the human condition? His six characters attempt various shifts: numbing it, rising above it, seeking out new pain and causing pain to others.

The jacket summary asks, "What if our pain was the most beautiful thing about us?" but I do not believe that The Illumination affirms that question. While the phenomenon of each individual's pain showing up as light is fascinating, even beautiful, it does not bring about any increase of empathy or kindness, (nor a decrease of violence or harm) in the world. Neither does any character's pain result in a predictable outcome; some find love or friendship, and some are doomed. Nonetheless, Brockmeier's ideas are intriguing. Just imagine if we could see everyone else's pain, not to mention our own, as a glow, a ray, a blaze or a glitter of light. At the very least, one would ponder the meaning, the importance and the role of pain in someone's life. None but the most insensitive of readers could come to the end of The Illumination without having her relationship with pain altered.

In beautiful sentences, with startling images of injuries, bodies, color and light, but most of all in his acute penetration into human longings and failings, Brockmeier creates a symphony in six movements that brings the reader face to face with life in all its harsh reality and unlimited possibility. Just as the reader becomes invested in one character's story, Brockmeier moves on to another, leaving the outcome of each story to the reader's imagination, and the finale is a dream of hope and a promise of eternity.

In an interview for Del Sol Literary Dialogues Kevin Brockmeier asks, "So why do I place my characters in fantastic, absurd situations? My first and most honest answer would be that it's a way of activating my imagination... So the element of fantasy that runs through my stories is mainly practical. That said, I do think the universe we live in is itself a fantastic place, filled with wonders, and that our minds are constructed so as to see within the world around us reflections of our own consciousness."

The Illumination has garnered mostly glowing reviews for its meticulous writing and its emphasis on love and connection, but an underlying sense of sorrow and loss and an unapologetically direct look at human suffering move the novel outside the realm of complete reassurance or comfort regarding life. It is recommended to readers willing to suspend a certain amount of disbelief in order to look at life, and the world, from a new perspective.

Reviewed by Judy Krueger

This review was originally published in February 2011, and has been updated for the February 2012 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Kevin Brockmeier

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.