BookBrowse Reviews Up from the Blue by Susan Henderson

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Up from the Blue

A Novel

by Susan Henderson

Up from the Blue
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Oct 2010, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jennifer Dawson Oakes

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

An extraordinary debut from a talented new voice

Up From the Blue is Susan Henderson's debut novel. She has gifted readers with a poignant story of family, resilience and hope. Tillie Harris speaks to us from 1991 but most of the narrative is spent reflecting on the year 1975; a time of banana seat bicycles, the growing feminist movement, school desegregation, and upheaval within the Harris family.

Back in 1975, Tillie's father is in the military, he is rigid (though not uncaring) and regimented by nature. When his wife Mara, Tillie's mother, falls into a deep depression he does not understand what is wrong with her so lobs out words like "lazy", "stubborn" and "helpless".  The family is truly scrambling in an effort to keep the illusion of togetherness while trying to come to grips with Mara's inability to function as a wife and mother.

Mara is an interesting character. Henderson has done a great job ...

About the Author
Susan Henderson is a two-time Pushcart Prize nominee and the founder of the literary blog LitPark: Where Writers Come to Play. Her work has appeared in Zoetrope, the Pittsburgh Quarterly, North Atlantic Review, Opium, and many other publications. She lives in New York.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.