BookBrowse Reviews Dark Water by Laura McNeal

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Dark Water

by Laura McNeal

Dark Water by Laura McNeal X
Dark Water by Laura McNeal
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2010, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2011, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Smith

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A beautifully crafted and haunting novel for young adults, full of peril, desperation, and love

Dark Water is based on true events. In an interview on Random Buzz, Laura McNeal said, "We were returning to our home in Fallbrook after a wildfire destroyed more than 200 houses there. We hadn't been allowed to enter our neighborhood for eight days, so it was pretty shocking to arrive and see whole hillsides of burned avocado groves, solitary chimneys, black eucalyptus trees, and deep, drifting ash." The plot of the book, she said, came from an actual rumor that spread through the migrant workers in her community. Many of them wouldn't evacuate during the fire because they were afraid that the border patrol would apprehend them.

And so the devastating fires, the fear of being deported, and the incredible danger when those two things collide - these are all true. Many books are based on true events, of course, but the specificity of Dark Water's plot and the lyrical, haunting way that Laura McNeal tells it, create a mesmerizing, page-turning, stays-with-you kind of story.

She vividly describes the rich landscape of Fallbrook, California in passages like, "But on that April day the trees outside the guesthouse spread their green fluttering limbs high above my head" and "I stood in the river up to my knees and let the water flow soft and cold around me until I felt, for just a second, that I was moving and the water was still." Her language mirrors the lush foliage and lyrical river, so it is easy for readers to see and hear and feel the landscape clearly.

Laura McNeal successfully uses first person point of view. Dark Water is Pearl's story - we see it through her eyes, and, even more specifically, we see it after it has happened, as she is telling a story from the past. First person narrators are often unreliable, but Pearl is trustworthy. She processes information thoroughly, and she examines her landscape, her actions, and the actions of others deeply. All of these traits, along with her likeable ability to follow her heart and use her head, make Pearl a sympathetic character.

Finally, Dark Water's short chapters well serve the novel's multiple storylines. Pearl deals with her estranged father, her troubled mother, and her cousin's accusations against her uncle, as well as her love for Amiel. All of these pieces of her life are relevant to the story, but none of them connect together. Pearl's life is compartmentalized. The novel's short chapters parallel that disjointedness beautifully and make the disparate plot points easy to follow.

In the end, Dark Water really is like Pearl. It is full of heart, and it is full of brains too. Because of this, it touches the reader's heart and asks the reader to think. It is complicated, doesn't offer easy answers, and its vital, true-life issues beg to be discussed.

Reviewed by Tamara Smith

This review was originally published in November 2010, and has been updated for the October 2011 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Heterochromia

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.