BookBrowse Reviews The Case of the Man Who Died Laughing by Tarquin Hall

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Case of the Man Who Died Laughing

From the Files of Vish Puri, Most Private Investigator

by Tarquin Hall

The Case of the Man Who Died Laughing
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2010, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2011, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Contemporary India comes to life in this comedic mystery

When "Guru Buster" Dr. Suresh Jha is murdered--apparently by the Hindu goddess Kali--in broad daylight in a city park during a regular exercise meeting of the Laughing Club, Delhi is all abuzz with speculation about his killer, or killers. Could the noted skeptic have been killed by his arch-enemy, His Holiness Maharaj Swami, a noted guru whose work Dr. Jha had debunked on numerous television news programs? Might it be a less famous "god man" with a chip on his shoulders? Or could it be a truly supernatural killing, a vindictive act by the dark goddess herself?

Most Private Investigator Vish Puri isn't sure who did kill Dr. Jha, but he's positive there's a rational, real-world explanation. Even though it'll take all his detection strategies to find a way through the political apparatus of Maharaj Swami's organization, not to mention into the secret techniques of some of India's ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  Vish Puri's Favorite Dishes

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.