BookBrowse Reviews The Quickening Maze by Adam Foulds

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Quickening Maze

A Novel

by Adam Foulds

The Quickening Maze by Adam Foulds X
The Quickening Maze by Adam Foulds
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Jun 2010, 272 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Karen Rigby
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A historical novel based on the poet John Clare's institutionalization in Victorian England (paperback original)

An episodic novel that revolves around a Victorian mental institution's residents and neighbors, The Quickening Maze follows Dr. Allen and his family, patients, and staff from the autumn of 1837 to the spring of 1838. Though Adam Foulds draws from real personages - including John Clare and Alfred Tennyson before his tenure as Poet Laureate - it is not his reimagining of the Victorian past that ultimately stands out as much as the threading of multiple narratives and his tenacious characters, all of which elevate an otherwise competent historical fiction into a more complex study of misplaced desires. He creates firm distinctions between desires that are possible and those that are delusions, juxtaposing normalcy with madness to highlight how all these various men and women approach their problems.

Portraits of weddings, fireside conversations, and other scenes of domesticity appear alongside depictions of mental illness, violence, and a visceral rurality. Whether Foulds details the administering of an enema, the butchering of a deer, or the repeated rape of a patient by an attendant, High Beach emerges as a forested enclave where the relatively tame concerns of the Allen household must coexist within the same bounds as the earthy and the profane.

Foulds does not delve into the inner workings of the sanitarium, nor does he use it as a platform for commentary on the psychological theories and medical practices of the time. It remains a shadowy place inhabited by a spectrum of patients - from a man who is not mad at all, but who has been confined by his family to prevent an undesirable marriage, to the more severe residents of Leopard Hill House, who require more constant supervision. Between these extremes are patients with privileges, who may occasionally wander the grounds on their own.

Although Dr. Allen's family resides within walking distance of High Beach, their involvement seems limited to greeting new arrivals, shared church services, or chance meetings, and readers are not told whether his wife and daughters realize the extent of the cruelty that occurs within its walls. In the midst of these commonplace moments, John Clare roams the woods slipping between lucidity and increasingly darker fantasies. Readers perceive High Beach from varied angles, and must draw their own parallels between the characters' respective paths.

Glimpses of an everyday life often prove more intriguing than explorations of madness. In a revealing moment, Hannah (upon visiting her newly married sister and brother-in-law) muses that Dora and her husband "…were a new generation, in a new home. There they would be safe from her parents' extravagance and failures and would never meet another patient." She realizes that escape comes in the form of creating one's own household, and of loving "…the life that was possible: that also was a freedom, perhaps the only freedom." It is one of the rare hints in the novel that suggests how profound an effect the environment has had on the family's daughters, and that they may have known more about the problems at High Beach than they had initially let on. As questions arise regarding what it means to be hemmed in by the expectations of others, and where real autonomy lies, the divide between those who are inside the asylum and those who are outside begins to increase.

The Quickening Maze, as its title suggests, is at times enigmatic, particularly in the passages which describe the mental meanderings of several patients. Still, it presents a fine tapestry, affording readers a broad view of an ordinary family facing rare circumstances. Foulds transforms relatively obscure material into an intelligent exploration of sanity, madness, and, perhaps most unexpectedly, of the ways in which love defines and confirms each character's sense of purpose.

Reviewed by Karen Rigby

This review first ran in the September 8, 2010 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Quickening Maze, try these:

  • Blue Asylum jacket

    Blue Asylum

    by Kathy Hepinstall

    Published 2013

    About this book

    More by this author

    In the midst of the American Civil War, a southern plantation owner's wife is arrested by her husband and declared insane for interfering with his slaves. She is sent to an island mental asylum to come to terms with her wrongdoing, but instead finds love and escape with a war-haunted Confederate soldier.

  • The Butterfly Cabinet jacket

    The Butterfly Cabinet

    by Bernie McGill

    Published 2012

    About this book

    Vivid, mysterious, and unforgettable, The Butterfly Cabinet is Bernie McGill's engrossing portrayal of the dark history that intertwines two lives - a haunting novel full of frightening silences and sorrowful absences that build toward an unexpected, chilling truth.

We have 7 read-alikes for The Quickening Maze, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Adam Foulds
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Hello Beautiful
    Hello Beautiful
    by Ann Napolitano
    Ann Napolitano's much-anticipated Hello Beautiful pulls the reader into a warm, loving familial ...
  • Book Jacket: The West
    The West
    by Naoíse Mac Sweeney
    It's become common for history books and courses to reconsider the emphasis on "Western Civilization...
  • Book Jacket
    A Death in Denmark
    by Amulya Malladi
    Can a mystery novel be informative, intriguing and deeply comforting all at once? Amulya Malladi ...
  • Book Jacket
    Shrines of Gaiety
    by Kate Atkinson
    A few years ago, magazines ran pieces about how the 2020s were likely to be the 1920s all over again...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The First Conspiracy
by Brad Meltzer & Josh Mensch
A remarkable and previously untold piece of American history—the secret plot to kill George Washington

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Clytemnestra
    by Costanza Casati

    Madeline Miller's Circe meets Cersei Lannister in this propulsive and richly drawn debut.

  • Book Jacket

    Pieces of Blue
    by Holly Goldberg Sloan

    A hilarious and heartfelt novel for fans of Maria Semple and Emma Straub.

Win This Book
Win Such Kindness

30 Copies to Give Away!

Few writers paint three-dimensional characters with such verve and humanism.
Booklist (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S I F A R Day

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.