BookBrowse Reviews Anthill by Edward O. Wilson

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Anthill

A Novel

by Edward O. Wilson

Anthill
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2010, 378 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2011, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Elizabeth Whitmore Funk

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Inspirational and magical, the story of boy who grows up determined to save the world from its most savage ecological predator: Man himself

The field of "ecocriticism" has become trendy in college English Departments across the country, but Anthill is the first time in popular culture that ecocriticism has been placed in the hands of a scientist. Anthill will excite bibliophiles and bookworms with its interdisciplinary, multi-genre approach to storytelling. The concerns addressed in Anthill are timely, representing popular environmental buzzwords such as "going green," "eco-friendly," and the use of the word "green" as a verb. In this sense, E. O. Wilson has "greened" the novel, not in the form of the paperless iPad, but in the theoretical manner of an "ecowriter."

In environmental terms, Anthill cross-pollinates literature and natural science, and as with many past attempts at trying to merge the science and the humanities, the blending is sometimes lopsided and awkward. The opening and closing scenes that ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  E. O. Wilson, the Scientist

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.