BookBrowse Reviews The Poacher's Son by Paul Doiron

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Poacher's Son

by Paul Doiron

The Poacher's Son by Paul Doiron X
The Poacher's Son by Paul Doiron
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2010, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2011, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Megan Shaffer

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An explosive tale of an estranged son thrust into the hunt for a murderous fugitive - his own father

There's a certain fascination with those who dare to live away from bright lights and big cities. Those who exist in the few geographical pockets without cell phone reception, computers, or modern ties to "civilization" command a unique respect and admiration from their plugged-in urban brethren. Whether it runs in the blood of those born unto its quietude or is sought by those who seek it's solitude and escape, there is something eerily seductive about those who opt for backcountry over backyard.

Author Paul Doiron wastes no time pulling us into such a world; in this case the deep, wildly mysterious heart of Maine's North Woods. With only its pocked, calloused logging roads for access, the untamed environs of northern Maine provide the perfect backdrop for Doiron's heart-racing thriller. With many miles to run and endless places to hide, Doiron capitalizes on the forest's alternating brilliance and pitch-black isolation to raise the reader's pulse as state police track fugitive Jack Bowditch on the biggest manhunt in years.

As son of the accused, Mike Bowditch's loyalties are suspect. Teetering on both sides of the law, the young game warden simply can't reconcile murder with the man that is his father. Barred from the investigation, and desperate to locate his father before the authorities do, Mike makes his own dangerous moves. Shifting into his father's reckless mindset, Mike rehashes the past in order to map his father's next move - taking the reader with him at breakneck speed. "This was my father's country. He used to brag that you could drop him, blindfolded, anywhere in the woods between Rangely and Jackman and in five minutes he'd deduce his location. It wasn't an idle boast. He'd hiked hundreds of miles through these mountains with a rifle slung over his shoulder, needing no compass to guide him home... if anyone could vanish into these North Woods, it was my dad. I wondered if the searchers knew what they were chasing."

As The Poacher's Son accelerates, Doiron taps into the local color to introduce a varied cast of eccentric characters. From serene backwater pilots to brassy bartenders to shady officers of the local law, each of Doiron's characters offer up potential motives and possibilities to keep you hooked. Though few can paint Mike's father in a positive light, you find yourself reluctantly urging Jack's escape for the mere sake of his son. "It seemed like I'd spent my whole life either embarrassed by him or trying to win his approval. I even became a law officer because of him - to make amends, if that was possible, for the petty crimes he'd committed against society and against his own family." Ultimately, through the scrutiny of his relationship, Mike realizes he is inextricably bound by the tough ties of family.

North WoodsDespite its fast pace, The Poacher's Son has considerable depth, drawn from the author's own deep love of the land. By using game warden Bowditch's ruminations to voice disdain of modern development, Doiron cleverly posits questions of ecological integrity without sacrificing the tempo of the story line. "When we first moved... there were still cornfields and thick oak forests that stretched for miles. Then the houses really began to sprout, first along the country wherever there was enough land for building. Soon the weedy fields where I'd caught garter snakes became a grid of neocolonial homes and impossibly green lawns. Woods where Wabanaki Indians had once hunted deer were cleared to make way for "Indian Woods Estates." Such eco-laments not only offer insight into the corporate invasion of Maine's pristine lands, but also lend The Poacher's Son an intelligence pertinent to the thickening plot.

The Poacher's Son is stocked with excitement and trepidation. Peering over the shoulder of Mike Bowditch as he combs through the eerie silence of the North Woods is pure nail-biting fun. Paul Doiron expertly takes hundreds of miles of largely uninhabited terrain and pares them down to a veritable base camp providing readers with easy access to both the thrill of the story and the breathtaking beauty of Maine's northern exposure. Loaded with unexpected twists, The Poacher's Son takes you to the edge and leaves you begging for more.

The Poacher's Son is the first book in Paul Doiron's Mike Bowditch series.

Reviewed by Megan Shaffer

This review was originally published in May 2010, and has been updated for the April 2011 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Maine Warden Service

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.