BookBrowse Reviews Burning Bright by Ron Rash

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Burning Bright

Stories

by Ron Rash

Burning Bright by Ron Rash X
Burning Bright by Ron Rash
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2010, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2011, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Pam Watts

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Short stories that span the years from the Civil War to the present day in Appalachia

In this beautifully written collection of short stories, Ron Rash digs deep into the lives of people in the North Carolina Appalachian region to create a gritty and at times chilling portrait of those on the down and out. Each story in this collection left me feeling deep and thoughtful. The imagery is heart-breaking, humorous, poignant, maddening, eerie. Together the stories create an image of place so vivid that it makes me forget I have spent almost every summer of my life there and makes me believe that Rash's portrait of the region is the one and only.

The stories are divided into two parts which have no title, but the halves seem to be: "those who live there" and "those who left." The first half hosts stories about poverty-stricken farmers during the depression, meth addicts, poor modern townies, and depression, and shows a place that was struggling to survive, and is now struggling to die. The second half shows the effects on the people who have left: a WWII soldier returning home after killing a man; an old man arrested when returning to his family farm - now a National Park - to dig ginseng; a hillbilly who slashes his wife's tires when she returns to school; an Engineer who's left the region but can't let go of his folk beliefs; a depressed musician playing horrid dives in California; and the wife of a Union soldier during the Civil War.

Death, dying, depression, poverty, and ghosts haunt the whole collection and create a really honest picture of a dying region. I found this book beautiful and compelling even though all my family is from the area. And Rash isn't wrong, exactly. There's a lot of poverty there, no doubt a lot of drugs, and indeed depression. People there do fight to survive, and they probably always have. The Civil War left a deep scar in the Appalachians, as it did in much of the South.

My biggest problem with the book is that it's an excessively one-sided look at the area. If death, drugs, poverty, and depression were really all the region had to offer then everyone from there would be on meth, be gone, or be dead. And they're not. Nowhere does Rash even hint at the fried food, large families, and boring relatives listing out who's related to whom and how for the umpteenth time, quilting, singing on the porch stoop, etc. There are, in fact, a lot of happy people there. And unlike Rash's modern engineer who cannot straddle the worlds of Appalachia and Academia, I have several relatives who are equally comfortable dining on moonshine and mountain oysters or lecturing in Ivory Towers.

I recommend this collection to any connoisseur of short stories or regional writing, to anyone who likes the eerie or macabre. It's a good book; just keep in mind that Rash's isn't the only Appalachia.

Map of the Appalachian Region

Reviewed by Pam Watts

This review was originally published in March 2010, and has been updated for the February 2011 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.