Beyond the Book: Background information when reading Burning Bright

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Burning Bright

Stories

by Ron Rash

Burning Bright by Ron Rash
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2010, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2011, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Pam Watts

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

The Appalachian Region
According to the Appalachian Regional Commission, the Appalachian Region stretches along the Appalachian Mountain range from Georgia, Alabama, and Mississippi up through parts of Pennsylvania and New York (see map below left). When most people refer to Appalachia, however, they are referring to the central (Virginia, West Virginia, and Kentucky) and southern regions (North Carolina, Tennessee, South Carolina, and south). Most of Rash's stories are populated with "Mountain Townies" - locals of the Boone and Asheville areas of North Carolina in the Central Appalachian region.

According to my cousin Jinny, a local of the area who also happens to be working on her PhD in history at Appalachian State University with a specialization in Appalachian Studies, the first settlement in the area was Cades Cove, established in Tennessee in 1818, across the border from Boone, though it remained officially "frontier" until the 1830s-40s. The original settlers were nearly all farmers and livestock herders, though the region never saw the large plantations associated with much of the south. The decline of the family farm began with the westward expansion of the early 1800s and was sealed during the Civil War when male workers were gone, food shortages were ever-present, and frequent raidings occurred. Overpopulation and economic competition with the West (who had better transportation systems and soil for growing cash crops like grains) kept the region from bouncing back. During the Industrial period, farmers and immigrants moved to labor camps for mining and logging. The post-depression era saw an out-migration of farmers, who could no longer support their families on their land.

A common misconception about the inhabitants of the region is that they are poor and always have been - in fact, most farmers in the region did well until the Civil War, and many continued to prosper afterwards. Other common misconceptions are that they never kept slaves - in fact, wealthier families kept as many as 20; and that they all supported the Confederacy - in fact, Cades Cove as well as much of Tennessee was Union, as were a few counties in North Carolina. Lastly, many assume that all inhabitants are of Western European descent - in fact, besides the Scotch-Irish, German, and English settlers who arrived in Virginia in the 1700s and migrated south, Central Appalachia is home to the "Eastern Band" of Cherokees who stayed during the Trail of Tears, Eastern and Southern European immigrants; as well as Jewish Merchants, who all settled in the region during the Industrial Period. The region is also home to some who identify as Melungeons, whose ancestors are believed to be of European/Middle Eastern origins intermarried with Indians and African-Americans.

Today the region is celebrated for its turn of the century ballads, Bluegrass, and Old Times music, hearty food, storytelling, and craft culture.

Article by Pam Watts

This article was originally published in March 2010, and has been updated for the February 2011 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.