BookBrowse Reviews The Postmistress by Sarah Blake

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Postmistress

by Sarah Blake

The Postmistress by Sarah Blake X
The Postmistress by Sarah Blake
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2010, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2011, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Those who carry the truth sometimes bear a terrible burden...

Sarah Blake's second novel (following Grange House, published in 2001) follows the lives of three women - Frankie, Emma and Iris - through the early years of World War II. It is a book about love and loss, as are so many war-era narratives, but what sets it apart is that it's also a novel about the power of words - the remarkable capacity they contain to move, motivate and inform over time and space. Letters written, reports broadcast, stories told… together they play a crucial role in The Postmistress.

Frankie's story is at the heart of this novel, and it is through Frankie's experiences as a war correspondent that Blake highlights important aspects of World War II, most notably the bombing of London in the Blitz, and the harrowing and often futile attempts made by Europe's Jewish population to flee the continent ahead of Hitler's advancing forces. Blake addresses both of these chapters of the war, bringing them to life for her readers and skillfully conveying the multiple, often conflicting emotions of those involved.

"Boom. The first shell shot out of one of the guns, roaring toward the sky at a plane no one could see, but whose sound the spotters tried to read as they started yelling coordinates. The first shell was followed right away by another, and the windows of the houses around the park buckled in the dim light and popped. Shattering glass silvered down into the street… Now, despite the cold of the October night, the men were sweating, the shells roaring out in answer to the spotters' shouts, stripped to their shirtsleeves and going at their guns like drummers. Come on, come on, come on, the gunners bellowed, drawing fire, and the lights blazed green and bright electric blue and the cordite burned down the back of their throats."

Frankie's tale lingered in my mind long after I turned the last page. Indeed, the portions of the narrative that relate her experiences are some of the best and most moving writing I've encountered in quite some time. Readers will without a doubt find themselves completely immersed in these chapters, surfacing with a much richer understanding of these two facets of World War II history.

While Blake's writing is beautiful throughout, the plot and characters are somewhat uneven. The sections of the novel set on Cape Cod are rather commonplace, and both Iris and Emma are equally unremarkable. These chapters provide a good contrast to those which deal with the war and do a fine job of realistically portraying an American public mostly oblivious to the events taking place overseas, but overall these parts are somewhat bland and fail to fully engage the reader. In addition, the author includes several off-putting and seemingly random sex scenes that struck me as odd, rather than erotic. They detract from the sections of great writing and do nothing to improve the lackluster sections.

Those flaws aside, The Postmistress is definitely worth reading. Blake's writing is rich and evocative, and much of the book is deeply affecting and though-provoking. Historical fiction fans in particular will find the novel illuminating, and it is likely to become a popular choice for book clubs.

Sarah Blake talks about her inspiration for The Postmistress:

Reviewed by Kim Kovacs

This review was originally published in March 2010, and has been updated for the February 2011 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.