Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Beneath the Lion's Gaze by Maaza Mengiste

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Beneath the Lion's Gaze

A Novel

by Maaza Mengiste

Beneath the Lion's Gaze by Maaza Mengiste X
Beneath the Lion's Gaze by Maaza Mengiste
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2010, 384 pages

    Paperback:
    Jan 2011, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A debut novel set in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, on the cusp of revolution

Beneath the Lion's Gaze is the outstanding debut novel of an unquestionably gifted writer. Maaza Mengiste's style is absolutely beautiful; she flawlessly combines flowing description and contemplative characters with an action-oriented plot. Often "poetic writing" is synonymous with "slow reading," but this novel is engrossing from start to finish. Mengiste has the remarkable ability to pull her readers into profound emotional depths with just a few eloquent sentences.

Hailu stared at the long shadows in the living room he once shared with [his wife] Selam. How many nights, how many of these moons did I watch shrink back into sunlight, then dusk with that woman by my side? It is 1974 and I am afraid without you, he admitted for the first time. Nothing I have ever learned has prepared me for the days ahead if you leave me now.

Another notable aspect of Mengiste's writing is her extraordinary ability to develop her characters. My first impression of the major players was that they were too archetypically one-sided (the dispassionate physician, the rebellious son, etc.), but they were so well drawn that I quickly became immersed in their lives and situations. Over the course of the book, as these characters lose their naiveté they lose their one-dimensionality. Their certainty about themselves and their positions about what is right and wrong fade until they realize there are only shades of grey. They all commit deeds of which they are proud, as well as acts of which they're deeply ashamed, making them very real, very human, and ultimately leading them to the conclusion that the love of one's family is all-important. It is their emotional journeys and self-discovery that make their stories so absorbing.

Although set against the backdrop of the 1974 Ethiopian Revolution, for the most part the region's history is secondary to the plot and Mengiste makes no attempt to explain how such chaos developed. While this has the benefit of focusing the reader's attention on the people affected by the conflict and their relationships with one another, it may leave some feeling adrift. Those requiring a bit more background would do well to peruse a brief history of the area (see sidebar).

Reading Beneath the Lion's Gaze is an intense experience, and many scenes will likely be too raw for some readers. Mengiste doesn't spare her audience vivid descriptions of the horrors endured by the innocents caught in the middle of the conflict. There are detailed descriptions of torture, including that of a child, which may prove too extreme for some readers and will likely limit the popular appeal of this exceptionally fine, emotionally powerful debut. Those who can get past the violent nature of the book will find a compelling novel well worth their time.

Above: Mengistu Haile Mariam
Below: Addis Ababa today

Reviewed by Kim Kovacs

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in January 2010, and has been updated for the January 2011 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The 1974 Ethiopian Revolution

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Beneath the Lion's Gaze, try these:

We have 7 read-alikes for Beneath the Lion's Gaze, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Maaza Mengiste
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...
  • Book Jacket: Somehow
    Somehow
    by Anne Lamott
    Anne Lamott knows a thing or two about love. In fact, there is so much of it exuding from her essay ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.