BookBrowse Reviews Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Wolf Hall

A Novel

by Hilary Mantel

Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel X
Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2009, 560 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2010, 592 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Judy Krueger

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Historical fiction set during the reign of Henry VIII; winner of the 2009 Booker Prize

Religion, power, politics, money and sex - key elements of human life - are all on full display in Hilary Mantel's Booker Prize winning novel. With judicious helpings of period detail, she presents an appealing portrait of Thomas Cromwell, the man who managed to free King Henry VIII from the Catholic Church and his first Queen, Katherine of Aragon, allowing Henry to enter into a second marriage to Anne Boleyn.

Whether or not a reader is familiar with the reign and times of Henry VIII, the story itself can be followed effortlessly, aided by the Table of Contents, Cast of Characters and Tudor Family Tree provided. Henry himself appears not only as a king who brought about vast changes in English history but also as a man of his times, influenced by the Renaissance, Martin Luther's Reformation and humanist philosophy, then called The New Learning. Henry's conviction that he must provide a male heir for the throne of England would make Wolf Hall essentially a man's story except that Mantel's retelling through the eyes of Cromwell sheds illumination on the potent role of women in determining English destiny.

Thomas Cromwell, conditioned to alertness by a violent and abusive father but introduced to royalty and privilege by a protective uncle, learned early to move fast, think rapidly and keep his eye out for survival. His intellect and boundless energy eventually brought him into the inner circle of Cardinal Thomas Wolsey, the King's Lord Chancellor, from whom he learned political savvy and the art of persuasion.

Because Cromwell spent his youth in Italy and France, he developed tolerance, knowledge and the humanist views found amongst the advanced thinkers of the time. No man, however, wields power with entirely clean hands. Once Cromwell's gifts landed him in the royal presence, he learned how to channel his scrappiness into a ruthless approach to inevitable enemies, earning him his reputation as a fearsome executioner. One such enemy was Thomas More, papist and man of conscience, who emerges as mean-spirited and fanatical, wearing a hair shirt beneath his robes.

Thomas Cromwell was the ideal man for Henry VIII. He started with nothing to lose, developed capacities for love and loyalty, gained much wealth and position, then risked it all for his beliefs in learning, freedom of thought and compassion for mankind. A Renaissance man, if you will, and a force for change in a time when England, and indeed much of Northern Europe, was emerging from the thrall of Catholicism and the heavy hand of the Pope. Along with Queen Catherine of Aragon and Anne Boleyn, Hilary paints these portraits with colorful language, broad strokes of action and accents of biting wit.

Most fans of historical fiction, including those who have read extensively about the Tudor period, will find new ground covered here. There is something liberating about reading a story while already knowing how it will all turn out, yet I became so sympathetic to Cromwell that I found myself dreading his impending doom. Most impressive is Hilary Mantel's fresh new account of an old, old tale, placing it in the broad canvas of western civilization and the evolution of society.

Reviewed by Judy Krueger

This review was originally published in November 2009, and has been updated for the September 2010 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.