BookBrowse Reviews The Invisible Mountain by Carolina De Robertis

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Invisible Mountain

by Carolina De Robertis

The Invisible Mountain by Carolina De Robertis X
The Invisible Mountain by Carolina De Robertis
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2009, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2010, 448 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Karen Rigby

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An enchanting novel that brings Montevideo, Uruguay to life through three generations of women

In this rhapsodic debut by Carolina de Robertis, three women reveal bittersweet stories set against the backdrop of an "invisible mountain" - a play on the fact that Montevideo’s real mountain isn’t a mountain at all, but only a hill. The mountain can also be read as a metaphor for the private burdens mothers and daughters must carry. Between them, Pajarita, Eva, and Salomé experience: a move from the country to the city; child labor and sexual abuse; hospitalization; a marriage of convenience; birth; estrangement; the exhilarating re-discovery of a first (and now transgendered) childhood love; the publication of a first book; rebellion; political turmoil; prison rape; the loss of a daughter to adoption; reconciliation; and death. If the inclusion of these many life-changing events sounds intense, it is - but the multi-generational timeline allows for dramatic episodes, and De Robertis layers them in ways that seem natural. The women's stories, and the manner of their telling, become part elegy and part paean to the city that binds them.

Montevideo serves as a motherland, a refuge for exiles, and a hotbed for revolutionaries - a city whose lure extends beyond its borders, and a city of contrasts. European architecture coexists with cantegriles (shanty-towns). Poetry springs from a humble home whose matriarch doles out herbal remedies as cures for unspecified aches. Mate, the national beverage often served from a gourd, flows as freely as the drinks in a bohemian café. What’s not to love about a setting as imaginative as this?

Nevertheless, The Invisible Mountain should not be mistaken for an escape for the armchair-traveler. It is a tough, lyrical tribute to women dealing with sometimes extraordinary circumstances, some of which are unsettling - while there are no excessively graphic depictions, the suggestions of torture occurring in the aftermath of a revolt-gone-wrong can be difficult to read. The women's triumphs seem few and hard-won, but the novel does not set out on an entirely tragic course. It ends where it begins, with one of the characters contemplating reaching out to the next generation. This sense of continuity and renewal is one of the pleasures of being offered the panoramic view; many of us may know secondhand stories about our ancestors, but such stories often leave us with more questions than answers. Here, we're able to trace the similarities in the women, and to witness how history does (or doesn't) repeat itself. Hope, as we might expect, often arrives in the form of a mother's sacrifices and fierce loyalties toward her children.

Eva in particular stands out. Bridging the divide between Pajarita (her mother, whose disappearance and sudden reappearance as an infant was thought to be miraculous), and Salomé, her own daughter (who is less strong and more susceptible to persuasion), she combines beauty with determination. One can hardly fault her for some of her choices, but she's no victim. Eva is calculating, vulnerable, ambitious, a little sentimental, and anything but conventional. Her brief stint as a wife moving through genteel society is one of the more revealing moments: we find that she's adaptable, able to charm others with effort, but also remains true to her beliefs, which eventually results in a major rift. When she finally reunites with someone she thought she'd lost, we feel the tensions releasing right along with her.

The Invisible Mountain is an incisive examination of some of life's trickier dilemmas, including when to place family at the forefront, and when to honor your own ideals even at the expense of others. The novel is also an enchanting new entry in the realm of contemporary Latin American literature. De Robertis brings Montevideo to life in scene after scene; considering the scope and depth of this little-known gem on the banks of the Río de la Plata, it should come as no surprise to learn the work was eight years in the making. It's been well-worth the wait.

Reviewed by Karen Rigby

This review was originally published in September 2009, and has been updated for the August 2010 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.