Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews The Stalin Epigram by Robert Littell

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Stalin Epigram

A Novel

by Robert Littell

The Stalin Epigram by Robert Littell X
The Stalin Epigram by Robert Littell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2009, 384 pages

    Paperback:
    Jun 2010, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Derek Brown
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A fictional rendering of the life of poet Osip Mandelstam, as he struggles to survive persecution in Stalinist Russia in the 1930s

Our lives no longer feel ground under them.
At ten paces you can’t hear our words.

With short measured breaths and hands darting about in poetic deliverance, a lone poet casts words to the air that each condense into a moment whose consequences will weigh on him for the rest of his life. His identity, now virtually unknown, claws at a half-empty audience, not for money, but for the next batch of cigarettes that might last him through the night. His calling is more than an augur’s foretelling; it is a craft that describes the events surrounding him in vivid detail, replete with morals and a naturalism that cuts to the core of things in an age that needed it most. But it is this craft that will cast him into dungeons far darker than the seedy cabaret where he delivers his sermons for meager alms; it will ruin the very thing that defines him. His name is Osip Mandelstam and this is his story.

But whenever there’s a snatch of talk
it turns to the Kremlin mountaineer,

the ten thick worms his fingers,
his words like measures of weight,

Robert Littell’s fictional recreation of the poet’s triumph and downfall through an assortment of different characters and perspectives - each equally as interesting as the next - make this riveting tale of woe into a page-turner of the highest order. Each character’s perception of events produces a mosaic of musings of the age and of the crippling events occurring within it.

The towering mythical presence of Joseph Stalin is decanted into a fallible human likeness teeming with sins and vices. Osip Mandelstam is the ardent idealist; fueled by poetic fervor, Mandelstam’s unremitting criticism of the government forms the basis of the tale. Nadezhda, his wife, is strong, devoted, and enamored of her husband’s gift, through her perspective we learn more about Mandelstam than through any other. Anna Ahkmatova is Mandelstam’s faithful friend and poetic confidant; she helps him navigate the darker days that follow his release before succumbing to a similar fate of her own. Fikrit Shotman, a genial and patriotic world-class weightlifter, plays the true believer who is condemned to the gulags for nothing more than a sticker pasted on his steamer trunk. Boris Pasternak, the Nobel laureate and counterpoint to Mandelstam’s idealism, is introduced as a historical and enigmatic deus ex machina, altering Mandelstam’s seemingly inevitable fate.

the huge laughing cockroaches on his top lip,
the glitter of his boot-rims.

Ringed with a scum of chicken-necked bosses
he toys with the tributes of half-men.

This is a dark tale of power, paranoia, and poetry conveyed in a highly readable, fast-paced narrative that still manages to retain a profound depth of feeling and emotion. Littell’s prowess as a spy novelist shines forth in his ability to recreate an inscrutable police state of backstabbing, intrigue, and the victimization of the masses. That Stalin should take such an avid interest in poetry, considering it to be above prose and playwriting, and yet persecute one of the greatest poets of the century - all because of a single poem that criticized his regime - is a powerful illustration of the age.

One whistles, another meows, a third snivels.
He pokes out his finger and he alone goes boom.

He forges decrees in a line like horseshoes,
One for the groin, one the forehead, temple, eye.

Littell’s remarkable epilogue reminds the reader that this history was once a living, breathing moment of a not-so-distant past that still, though perhaps indirectly, affects the present day. It also reminds us that while reality might favor the powerful, posterity favors the wordsmith. A profound novel whose message of suffering and redemption echo that of some of Russia’s great works commingle with a refreshing narrative style that make Robert Littell’s latest work an exceptional example of historical fiction.

He rolls the executions on his tongue like berries.
He wishes he could hug them like big friends from home.

--Osip Mandelstam, "The Stalin Epigram"

Reviewed by Derek Brown

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in July 2009, and has been updated for the July 2010 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Russia’s Poetic Troika

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Stalin Epigram, try these:

We have 9 read-alikes for The Stalin Epigram, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Robert Littell
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine CapĂł Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...
  • Book Jacket: The Painter's Daughters
    The Painter's Daughters
    by Emily Howes
    Peggy and Molly Gainsborough are sisters and best friends, living an idyllic life in 18th-century ...
  • Book Jacket: Beverly Hills Spy
    Beverly Hills Spy
    by Ronald Drabkin
    When it comes to espionage, not only is truth stranger than fiction, sometimes it can be downright ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Half a Cup of Sand and Sky
by Nadine Bjursten
A poignant portrayal of a woman's quest for love and belonging amid political turmoil.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

Who Said...

Use what talents you possess: The woods would be very silent if no birds sang there except those that sang best

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S B the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.