BookBrowse Reviews If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

If I Stay

by Gayle Forman

If I Stay
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2009, 208 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2010, 208 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Allison Stadd

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Reminiscent of The Lovely Bones, a poignant young adult novel about the power of family and friends, and making choices in the wake of tragedy

It comes as no surprise that the author of this novel is an award-winning journalist. Gayle Forman's writing is at once concise and emotionally poignant, reading much like a well-researched feature piece for a magazine. The opening of the novel sweeps us off our feet, with a devastating catastrophe of unimaginably tragic proportions. Mia is left in a coma, stranded in time and space, her parents and brother wrenched away from her. But we aren't left isolated in one place. She takes us on a journey through her thoughts and past as she reflects on whether to stay rooted or set herself free.

Reminiscent of The Lovely Bones, this book grapples with the fraught subject of the death of youth. Mia must decide, in her in-between state, whether to live or die. The storyline is heart-wrenching, but restrained enough to really make us contemplate, along with Mia, what the proper course of ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.