Beyond the Book: Background information when reading If I Stay

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

If I Stay

by Gayle Forman

If I Stay by Gayle Forman X
If I Stay by Gayle Forman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2009, 208 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2010, 208 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Allison Stadd
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to If I Stay

Print Review

The Little, Big Viola
As Mia's source of strength, the cello plays a central role in If I Stay. Playing her instrument is her true passion, her future and the reason for her bond to her first love, Adam.

The first cellos were made in 16th century Italy. Composers sought an instrument with a similar sound to other stringed instruments but a lower tone than the violas and violins that were held under the player's chin. Cello is an abbreviation of the Italian word "violoncello", an oxymoron meaning "little, big viola."

Yo-Yo Ma
As she wrote her novel, Gayle Forman was inspired by the life and work of world-renowned cellist Yo-Yo Ma. In essence, his music sways Mia to make her final choice between life and death. Yo-Yo Ma is Mia's musical idol, and joking with Adam about his name forms the foundation for their friendship, and later, their romantic relationship.

Yo-Yo Ma began his study of the cello at age four. His principal teacher was the esteemed Leonard Rose at The Juilliard School, the prestigious institution that Mia is also drawn to. In his illustrious career, Yo-Yo Ma has recorded dozens of albums and won 15 Grammy Awards. Willing to defy simple categorizations of genre, Yo-Yo Ma's unique approach to music is reminiscent of the powerful fusion of classical and rock music that Mia's family plays at their Labor Day picnic. Yo-Yo Ma has made several recordings that blend diverse forms of music, including Hush Little Baby with Bobby McFerrin, Appalachian Journey with James Taylor and virtuoso Bluegrass Bassist Edgar Meyer, and two tributes to the music of Brazil.

Article by Allison Stadd

This "beyond the book article" relates to If I Stay. It originally ran in May 2009 and has been updated for the April 2010 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...
  • Book Jacket: Where the Light Enters
    Where the Light Enters
    by Sara Donati
    In this thrilling follow-up to The Gilded Hour, doctors Sophie and Anna Savard take on a baffling ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.