BookBrowse Reviews Hello Goodbye by Emily Chenoweth

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Hello Goodbye

A Novel

by Emily Chenoweth

Hello Goodbye by Emily Chenoweth X
Hello Goodbye by Emily Chenoweth
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2009, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2011, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Megan Shaffer

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A luminous novel that ponders the agonizing question, how do you grieve the loss of someone who is still alive?

When illness strikes, people place their faith in curious things; in Hello Goodbye, Elliott Hansen places his in the exclusive Presidential - a historic resort in the White Mountains. Reeling from the diagnosis of his wife Helen's inoperable brain tumor, Elliott's once simple life has become utterly complicated.

It was ironic, he thought, the way a situation that exposed once and for all the essential powerlessness of the human animal in the face of fortune also revealed the importance of good conduct within that powerlessness. There was nothing you could do and yet you could not do nothing.

Spurred to action by Helen's impending death, Elliott books a week long stay for family and friends under the guise of an anniversary celebration. In sole possession of the fact that Helen's prognosis is terminal, Elliott holds out hope that the decadence and beauty of the Presidential might somehow compensate for the staggering news he must deliver.

With some bitterness and trepidation, Abby joins her middle-aged parents on this excursion into the White Mountains. Because she doesn't know the severity of her mother's illness, Abby still has the luxury of wallowing in her own anger and self pity. "No one ever said: 'Someday you'll have to babysit your own mother.'" Both loving and churlish at times, Abby is torn by her deep affection for her mother and the inconvenience and injustice of Helen's illness. Now forced to contemplate this lesser version of her once vibrant mother, Abby struggles to maintain her independence while grappling with this new reversal of roles.

The arrival of Helen and Elliott's lifelong friend illuminate the true tragedy of this novel. Though the Hansen friends are full of life, the deterioration of their dear Helen makes this celebration ever more poignant. Ms. Chenoweth's canny use of characters allows us a glimpse of better days gone by and an understanding of the magnitude of what they all stand to lose. Through their laughter and tears, Hello Goodbye poses the agonizing question of how to grieve the loss of a friend who is still alive.

As friends and family fuss around her, Helen certainly must know all is not well. Physically and emotionally exhausted, Helen craves the sweetness of sleep. "When she's sleeping, she's not half blind or clumsy or forgetful. She's simply herself... The waking is what's hard. That had been the worst part: to learn the truth each day all over again." Still innocent of her prognosis, Helen puts her best foot forward. With good nature, she accepts the attentions of her adoring friends, eternally safe in the comfort of the familiar.

Hello Goodbye has a lot going on for a one week stay. Themes of love, relationship and loss abound, but are sometimes obscured by the commotion of shifting plots and story lines. Despite such fluctuations, Emily Chenoweth's novel holds unexpected and pleasant surprises. Her witty and engaging characters easily balance out the darker issues of mortality and the transience of life. A quick read, one laments the lack of time to get to know this group more intimately, but perhaps that is precisely the point of Hello Goodbye. As the last of his guests glide down the drive of the Presidential, Elliott reflects on an uncertain future but a choice well made. "Maybe, he thought, it was enough for now just to feel blessedly alive."

Reviewed by Megan Shaffer

This review was originally published in May 2009, and has been updated for the June 2011 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.