BookBrowse Reviews You Are Here by Christopher Potter

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

You Are Here

A Portable History of the Universe

by Christopher Potter

You Are Here by Christopher Potter X
You Are Here by Christopher Potter
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2009, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2010, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A whirlwind tour through the life of the universe, from quarks to galaxy superclusters, from slime to Homo sapiens

You Are Here is simply an amazing book. Christopher Potter takes his readers on a whirlwind tour that races from the vastness of the universe to the subatomic particles that make up all of creation, touching on scientific theory, history, and even evolution along the way. It is a fascinating journey that can leave one's head spinning. There is a lot of information packed into this slim volume.

Potter uses the clever technique of allowing exponentials of ten to enhance his readers' grasp of the immense (or infinitesimally small) distances and sizes about which he's writing. He lists, for example, items that are between 1 and 10 metres in length (humans, giraffes). Once the reader easily comprehends that distance, he progresses to items 10 to 100 metres long (pythons, some dinosaurs), and so on until he reaches distances of light years. This makes his subjects more approachable, providing a better sense of scale than if he had merely spouted facts at the reader. The information is peppered with remarkable observations that frequently cause the reader to stop mid-page in wonder.

One of the themes recurring throughout You Are Here is Potter's claim that scientists have been trying to prove humanity isn't "special" since Copernicus placed the Sun at the center of the universe, that our planet isn't unique. Yet, as scientists uncover more information about the universe, our world paradoxically becomes more remarkable. Potter points out that although there are many "Goldilocks planets" (just the right distance from their sun), the Earth and its solar system have other features that aren't present elsewhere that were essential to the development of life here.

Even the amount of uranium in the earth seems to be perfectly balanced for life. Too little and the earth would have cooled too quickly. It would have become something inert. Too much and the radioactivity levels would again have made this sort of life impossible. The level that we do have suggests that the sun is made of material from a third round of star making, which again reminds that not only are the conditions of the solar system finely balanced for our life, but the conditions of the universe are finely balanced too.

Potter's cosmology allows for the coexistence of science and faith. Early in the narrative he quotes such scientific luminaries as Einstein and Hawking regarding the possible existence of God. He includes a quote from American astronomer Robert Jastrow on the last page of You Are Here: "…The scientist who has climbed the highest peak may find 'as he pulls himself over the final rock, [that] he is greeted by a band of theologians who have been sitting there for centuries.'" While some purists may object to the insertion of spirituality in a popular science book, its inclusion is not intrusive.

At times Potter's writing can be a bit dry. He tends to drift into unnecessary recitation of data that does little to enhance the reader's understanding of a subject. In addition, the book's publicists do it a disservice in proclaiming its accessibility. Personally, I did not find this an easy read. The central sections which deal with quantum mechanics, string theory, and antimatter were particularly challenging. The reader is advised to peruse an excerpt before picking up a copy - You Are Here will not be everyone's cup of tea, and it's not a book that can be easily read in an environment full of distractions. Regardless of its difficulty, however, I did find the information Potter presented to be fascinating, and I was never tempted to abandon the book. Readers with a background in science in particular are likely to find much to enjoy here.

Interesting Link
An interview with the author at The Guardian.

Reviewed by Kim Kovacs

This review was originally published in May 2009, and has been updated for the February 2010 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.