BookBrowse Reviews All Other Nights by Dara Horn

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

All Other Nights

A Novel

by Dara Horn

All Other Nights by Dara Horn X
All Other Nights by Dara Horn
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2009, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2010, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A gripping and suspenseful story of men and women driven to the extreme limits of loyalty and betrayal, set during the Civil War

Dara Horn's third novel, All Other Nights, shimmers with emotion and historical detail. Set amidst the tumult of the Civil War, Jacob Rappaport is on a quest to find himself. When he flees his parents' wealthy New York life, he knows little of himself or the world. His journey takes him into the bowels of evil, self-loathing and despair; yet there is redemption to be found as well as he struggles to make sense of love and duty.

What makes Jacob Rappaport so incredibly interesting is that he is a villain without even realizing it. Though he comes from a religious tradition that values free will, Jacob, in the beginning, has little understanding that he actually has it. Desperate to be taken seriously by the Union Army because he has been discounted by his father his entire life, he quickly agrees to kill his uncle, a Rebel suspected of plotting to assassinate Lincoln. After his uncle's death, he is given another task – to marry a spy – which he accepts with the same alacrity. Jacob is able to kill his uncle because he turns him into an object and a pathetic character. Yet, Jacob's ability to step away from his emotions in the face of duty becomes increasingly difficult as he falls victim to the charms of Eugenia Levy and her sisters. His parents' cold house was devoid of love and honesty, but in the Levy home – though there is much illusion and deception – there is also a warmth and kindness that he has never known.

There have been many Civil War novels that center around lovers in the delusional South. Horn's rendering allows us to see this epic moment in American history from a different perspective. The central characters of the tale are Jewish, and their experience with the South's beliefs about slavery cast a new light on the old story of the War Between the States. Jacob's Northern experience echoes our modern feelings about slavery and the Southern delusion. The reader will marvel, just as Jacob does, at the Southerners in All Other Nights discussing the Hebrews' flight from slavery as black slaves serve them dinner at Passover Seder. Jacob notices, just as the reader does, that though Judah Benjamin, Secretary of State for the Confederacy, was Jewish, anti-Semitism was rampant in the North and South. The story of the Civil War is so often told in black and white that it is revelatory to see it from an alternative perspective. Horn's deft movement between fiction and history illuminates a new corner of this epic tale.

Ultimately, All Other Nights is a story of suspense and love. Jacob Rappaport's journey to self-discovery and redemption is a page-turner, one that should not be missed.

About the Author
Dara Horn is also the author of In the Image (2002) and The World To Come (2006).  She was born in New Jersey in 1977 and received her Ph.D in comparative literature from Harvard University in 2006. She has received a variety of critical accolades and awards for her work, including the National Jewish Book Award, and was named on the of Best Young American Novelists by Granta Magazine. She has taught Jewish Literature and Israeli history at Harvard and at Sarah Lawrence College and has lectured at universities around the country. She lives with her husband and three children in New Jersey.

This review was originally published in April 2009, and has been updated for the March 2010 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.