MLA Platinum Award Press Release

BookBrowse Reviews All Other Nights by Dara Horn

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

All Other Nights

A Novel

by Dara Horn

All Other Nights by Dara Horn X
All Other Nights by Dara Horn
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2009, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2010, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A gripping and suspenseful story of men and women driven to the extreme limits of loyalty and betrayal, set during the Civil War

Dara Horn's third novel, All Other Nights, shimmers with emotion and historical detail. Set amidst the tumult of the Civil War, Jacob Rappaport is on a quest to find himself. When he flees his parents' wealthy New York life, he knows little of himself or the world. His journey takes him into the bowels of evil, self-loathing and despair; yet there is redemption to be found as well as he struggles to make sense of love and duty.

What makes Jacob Rappaport so incredibly interesting is that he is a villain without even realizing it. Though he comes from a religious tradition that values free will, Jacob, in the beginning, has little understanding that he actually has it. Desperate to be taken seriously by the Union Army because he has been discounted by his father his entire life, he quickly agrees to kill his uncle, a Rebel suspected of plotting to assassinate Lincoln. After his uncle's death, he is given another task – to marry a spy – which he accepts with the same alacrity. Jacob is able to kill his uncle because he turns him into an object and a pathetic character. Yet, Jacob's ability to step away from his emotions in the face of duty becomes increasingly difficult as he falls victim to the charms of Eugenia Levy and her sisters. His parents' cold house was devoid of love and honesty, but in the Levy home – though there is much illusion and deception – there is also a warmth and kindness that he has never known.

There have been many Civil War novels that center around lovers in the delusional South. Horn's rendering allows us to see this epic moment in American history from a different perspective. The central characters of the tale are Jewish, and their experience with the South's beliefs about slavery cast a new light on the old story of the War Between the States. Jacob's Northern experience echoes our modern feelings about slavery and the Southern delusion. The reader will marvel, just as Jacob does, at the Southerners in All Other Nights discussing the Hebrews' flight from slavery as black slaves serve them dinner at Passover Seder. Jacob notices, just as the reader does, that though Judah Benjamin, Secretary of State for the Confederacy, was Jewish, anti-Semitism was rampant in the North and South. The story of the Civil War is so often told in black and white that it is revelatory to see it from an alternative perspective. Horn's deft movement between fiction and history illuminates a new corner of this epic tale.

Ultimately, All Other Nights is a story of suspense and love. Jacob Rappaport's journey to self-discovery and redemption is a page-turner, one that should not be missed.

About the Author
Dara Horn is also the author of In the Image (2002) and The World To Come (2006).  She was born in New Jersey in 1977 and received her Ph.D in comparative literature from Harvard University in 2006. She has received a variety of critical accolades and awards for her work, including the National Jewish Book Award, and was named on the of Best Young American Novelists by Granta Magazine. She has taught Jewish Literature and Israeli history at Harvard and at Sarah Lawrence College and has lectured at universities around the country. She lives with her husband and three children in New Jersey.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in April 2009, and has been updated for the March 2010 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...
  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Cartier's Hope
    by M. J. Rose

    A Gilded Age gem of ambition & betrayal from the author of New York Times bestseller, Tiffany Blues.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Father of Lions
by Louise Callaghan

A true-to-life narrative of one man's remarkable quest to save the Mosul Zoo.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.