Beyond the Book: Background information when reading All Other Nights

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

All Other Nights

A Novel

by Dara Horn

All Other Nights by Dara Horn X
All Other Nights by Dara Horn
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2009, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2010, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to All Other Nights

Print Review

The Life & Times of Judah Benjamin
All Other Nights incorporates a number of historical characters, but perhaps the most integral to the tale is Judah Benjamin, the Secretary of State for the Confederate States of America.

Judah Benjamin was born in 1811 in the West Indies during the British occupation of the Danish West Indies (now US Virgin Islands).  He emigrated with his father, an English Jew, and mother, a Portuguese Jew, to the USA a few years later and was brought up in North and South Carolina.  He entered Yale Law School at 14 years of age but left without a degree. In 1832, he moved to New Orleans, LA, where he became a commercial lawyer. The next year, he married Natalie St. Martin, the daughter of a prominent Catholic New Orleans family. He soon became a slave owner and established a plantation in Belle Chasse, LA. In 1847, Natalie took the Benjamin's only child, five-year-old daughter Ninette, to Paris, where they lived for the rest of Natalie's life.

In 1842, Benjamin was elected to the lower house of the Louisiana State Legislature. His reputation as an eloquent speaker and his subtle legal mind eventually won him a seat in the U.S. Senate and he became a noted advocate for Southern issues, particularly slavery. Though others, especially senators from the North, lambasted him for the perceived irony of his position – that of being a proponent of slavery and a Jew (who annually celebrated the escape of the Israelites from Egypt) – he saw no such conflict between his religious and political beliefs.

Jefferson Davis, future President of the Confederate States of America (CSA), apparently saw no conflict either and appointed Benjamin Attorney General of the CSA. He would ultimately become Secretary of State. Benjamin was often referred to as the "Brains of the Confederacy" and was known for his "lucidity of intellect, systematic habits, and capacity for labor."

Initially, Benjamin tried to draw the United Kingdom into the war on the side of the CSA, but he was unsuccessful. His next plan, to offer freedom to any slave willing to bear arms for the Confederacy, was ultimately unsuccessful as well - the plan was supported by Robert E. Lee, and eventually passed in 1865, but was too late to help the CSA win the war.

After Lee's surrender, Benjamin fled south through Florida and the Bahamas to England, where he began a second and lucrative career as a barrister. He died in Paris on May 6, 1884.

This "beyond the book article" relates to All Other Nights. It originally ran in April 2009 and has been updated for the March 2010 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.