MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Beyond the Book: Background information when reading All Other Nights

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

All Other Nights

A Novel

by Dara Horn

All Other Nights by Dara Horn X
All Other Nights by Dara Horn
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2009, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2010, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to All Other Nights

Print Review

The Life & Times of Judah Benjamin
All Other Nights incorporates a number of historical characters, but perhaps the most integral to the tale is Judah Benjamin, the Secretary of State for the Confederate States of America.

Judah Benjamin was born in 1811 in the West Indies during the British occupation of the Danish West Indies (now US Virgin Islands).  He emigrated with his father, an English Jew, and mother, a Portuguese Jew, to the USA a few years later and was brought up in North and South Carolina.  He entered Yale Law School at 14 years of age but left without a degree. In 1832, he moved to New Orleans, LA, where he became a commercial lawyer. The next year, he married Natalie St. Martin, the daughter of a prominent Catholic New Orleans family. He soon became a slave owner and established a plantation in Belle Chasse, LA. In 1847, Natalie took the Benjamin's only child, five-year-old daughter Ninette, to Paris, where they lived for the rest of Natalie's life.

In 1842, Benjamin was elected to the lower house of the Louisiana State Legislature. His reputation as an eloquent speaker and his subtle legal mind eventually won him a seat in the U.S. Senate and he became a noted advocate for Southern issues, particularly slavery. Though others, especially senators from the North, lambasted him for the perceived irony of his position – that of being a proponent of slavery and a Jew (who annually celebrated the escape of the Israelites from Egypt) – he saw no such conflict between his religious and political beliefs.

Jefferson Davis, future President of the Confederate States of America (CSA), apparently saw no conflict either and appointed Benjamin Attorney General of the CSA. He would ultimately become Secretary of State. Benjamin was often referred to as the "Brains of the Confederacy" and was known for his "lucidity of intellect, systematic habits, and capacity for labor."

Initially, Benjamin tried to draw the United Kingdom into the war on the side of the CSA, but he was unsuccessful. His next plan, to offer freedom to any slave willing to bear arms for the Confederacy, was ultimately unsuccessful as well - the plan was supported by Robert E. Lee, and eventually passed in 1865, but was too late to help the CSA win the war.

After Lee's surrender, Benjamin fled south through Florida and the Bahamas to England, where he began a second and lucrative career as a barrister. He died in Paris on May 6, 1884.

This "beyond the book article" relates to All Other Nights. It originally ran in April 2009 and has been updated for the March 2010 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Red Letter Days
    by Sarah-Jane Stratford

    A striking novel about two daring women who escape McCarthy-era Hollywood for London.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.