BookBrowse Reviews Lowboy by John Wray

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Lowboy

by John Wray

Lowboy by John Wray
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2009, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2010, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Derek Brown

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A fearless exploration of youth, sex, and violence in contemporary America, seen through one boy's haunting and extraordinary vision

Will Heller is not exactly your typical sixteen-year-old boy, and Lowboy is not exactly your typical bildungsroman. The story begins in New York City, but it doesn't begin by describing the streets, the masses of pedestrian traffic, or the shadows of skyscrapers; it begins in the tunnels beneath it. Will Heller has a penchant for the subway, and his peerless understanding of it has earned him the name "Lowboy." However, his understanding of the world around him - though penetrating and keenly perceptive - is tinged by an unfortunate complication: he's a paranoid schizophrenic. Driven on a quest to save the world, Will believes the world's salvation rests upon his discovery of a willing girl. This girl is the ingenuous Emily Wallace: unaware of his condition, she was his former best friend and only companion before an unfortunate and rather fierce event separated them. While Will is on his own search to find Emily, his mother, Violet Heller, and a seasoned missing persons specialist named Ali Lateef, are on a desperate search to find him. While Violet and the detective seem to always be on his heels, Will's unpredictable -- though bizarrely logical -- behavior seems to prevent his capture. Violet slowly divulges her own troubling secrets as the quests of both parties run parallel to one another, and as each track is explored, we learn about each character's story and subsequently why they are who they are.

The allure of Lowboy lies not only in its fascinating portrayal of an adolescent's struggle with his own sanity, but also in how his insanity affords him a view of the world that is at once bleak, wondrous, and comical. But I also feel the real merit is not just in the worldview of Will Heller; it is also the perspectives of his pursuers and the pursued that make this novel first-rate. This complex tale is about more than just one boy's search to discover his own answers; it contains a whole array of themes from issues of identity to questioning an individual's ability to be "normal."

John Wray demonstrates his literary talents by seamlessly shifting from a medicated and numbed view of the world to one filled with all the irrationalities (though seemingly rational to the main character) that mental pathos can provide. Lowboy is an enthralling tale about love, loss, and just about everything in between, wrapped in the trappings of a tragedy. I have always felt that the mark of a truly great book is a story that is difficult to forget and leaves you thinking. Two weeks after finishing, this gripping achievement still has me thinking every time I step foot on the subway.

Lowboy is a dark and enlivening exploration of the mind of a teenager woefully afflicted by mental illness, the free-spirited and unaware companion that he seeks, the passion and mystery of a mother earnestly searching for him, and the stoic and pensive detective attempting to thwart him while understanding the mess of it all. You will find yourself getting pulled in deeper with every chapter, resonating with each of characters more and more until you realize that you're at the end of the line and you long for it to begin all over again.

Reviewed by Derek Brown

This review was originally published in April 2009, and has been updated for the February 2010 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Graybar Hotel
    The Graybar Hotel
    by Curtis Dawkins
    We – those of us on the outside – are lucky. So very lucky. We get to experience life &#...
  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.