Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Love Stories in This Town by Amanda Eyre Ward

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Love Stories in This Town

by Amanda Eyre Ward

Love Stories in This Town by Amanda Eyre Ward X
Love Stories in This Town by Amanda Eyre Ward
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Apr 2009, 224 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Stacey Brownlie
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Twelve stories about love in all of its complexity, absurdity, and glory

Amanda Eyre Ward's first collection of short stories resembles her three previous novels in both tone and focus. The pieces contained in Love Stories in This Town feature female protagonists and engaging supporting characters set in varied and vividly portrayed locations. Ward's stories offer entertaining, light reading punctuated by spurts of messy reality. The mix of heartache and humor, blended with sometimes outlandish circumstances will likely appeal to women, and most especially to those who are mothers.

The collection is presented in two parts. The first and last stories in Part One address responses to the September 11th attacks on the United States. In between these two slightly melancholy, yet quirky pieces are four other stories. One briefly introduces us to a romantically confused young woman in Butte, Montana who works at the local public library. Another draws out the heartbreak of miscarriage by following a couple as they house hunt in Houston, Texas. The final two stories of Part One concern a woman who works for a dot-com startup as she deals with her inability to get pregnant, and a husband and wife as they encounter the enormous change that a child brings to their previously cozy relationship. Each piece draws the reader into dissimilar settings and situations, yet the stories are alike in their subtle wit and their showcasing of life's incongruity and its simple pleasures.

Six chronological stories about a character named Lola comprise the second half of the collection. We follow Lola through an unexpectedly failed romantic relationship to an unplanned but happy marriage and on to a stint of married life very far from home. These events are followed by the question of children and finally the challenges of motherhood. Ward often illuminates Lola's character via her imperfect family ties with her long separated parents and status-conscious mother-in-law. We also get to know Lola through her emotional responses to moving from Montana to Colorado to Saudi Arabia and back to Austin, Texas. This second half of the book can be read almost as a novella and, thankfully, Lola is an interesting enough character to make her repeat visits pleasurable.

Several of the collection's stories explore the feminine attempt to juggle maternal, professional and marital roles. The book's leading ladies display successes as well as failures in balancing the disparate responsibilities and desires created by these roles. As the title suggests, Ward also links her characters' feelings and decisions (whether romantic or otherwise) to their physical setting, revealing the connection between physical and mental geography. Ward's emphasis on the tangible characteristics of place also points to the influence a state or a town can have on the intangible parts of our lives.

My complaints against this collection are few. The stories are without question the product of a talented and precise writer. Ward's concentration on common topics for female characters could be viewed as timeless or time-worn, depending on the reader. Though I might have enjoyed a bit more variety to round out the common feminine themes, I am sure that many will readily identify with Ward's fictional women and their universal questions of love, identity and motherhood. As a librarian, I admit to showing personal bias when I say that I was mildly disappointed with the story, "Butte as in Beautiful" in which the main character works at a public library. I truly hoped the presence of "biddies" or the concept that "all the librarians... hate men" would not be part of the plot, but, alas, the modern librarian is still destined to be associated with old stereotypes. This isn't the first time Ward featured libraries or library staff in her fiction, however; one of the primary characters in her novel Sleep Toward Heaven is a librarian whose portrayal I appreciated as admirably realistic.

For me, the primary strength of this book is Ward's quick and tempting pacing that compelled me to stay between the covers just a little longer. I never felt like a story lasted too long or lost its tight structure; Ward has a real talent for finding just the right length and touch for her work. Another notable characteristic of her writing is her ability to weave the absurd realism of our daily lives with weightier topics -- love, loyalty, fear, parenthood, for example. Negative and positive are nearly balanced in these stories and though we cannot expect the same in real life, this evenness makes for hopeful reading. Ward's fiction does not leave us with bleakness, though her stories hint that there is much of it in the non-fiction world.

Reviewed by Stacey Brownlie

This review first ran in the April 22, 2009 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Love Stories in This Town, try these:

  • The Last Secret jacket

    The Last Secret

    by Mary McGarry Morris

    Published 2010

    About this book

    More by this author

    Nora Hammond is a woman blessed with the perfect life: a charming husband, two bright teenage children, a successful career. But Nora's comfortable existence threatens to unravel when she learns of her husband's longtime affair, and a sordid incident from her youth returns with terrifying force.

  • The School of Essential Ingredients jacket

    The School of Essential Ingredients

    by Erica Bauermeister

    Published 2010

    About this book

    More by this author

    A lesson in cake-making leads to reflections on a marriage; tortillas teach a girl to believe in herself. A man learns about love while creating tiramisu. The School of Essential Ingredients follows the lives of eight cooking students and their teacher in a class that meets in Lillian’s restaurant kitchen.

We have 5 read-alikes for Love Stories in This Town, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Amanda Eyre Ward
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.