BookBrowse Reviews Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Beat the Reaper

A Novel

by Josh Bazell

Beat the Reaper
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2009, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2009, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Bazell's profanely hilarious debut hits the ground running

Bazell's profanely hilarious debut hits the ground running with a street thug trying to mug New York City physician intern Peter Brown. The young doc is on his way to work and doesn't have time for this nonsense so Brown (in some quick not-learned-in-med-school moves) disables the jerk, throws him over his shoulder, then drops him in the hospital's emergency room to care for his injuries. What he did learn in med school was how to describe in graphic detail just exactly how he is disabling the jerk – complete with footnotes. Four pages in and I already know that Peter Brown is a really complex person. A benevolent beast?

Many authors – and almost all first time novelists – build a character slowly, page-by-deliberate-page. Don't get me wrong. Brown is much more than is revealed in that first scene. His back story and current situation only get more ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.