BookBrowse Reviews Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Beat the Reaper

A Novel

by Josh Bazell

Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell X
Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2009, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2009, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Bazell's profanely hilarious debut hits the ground running

Bazell's profanely hilarious debut hits the ground running with a street thug trying to mug New York City physician intern Peter Brown. The young doc is on his way to work and doesn't have time for this nonsense so Brown (in some quick not-learned-in-med-school moves) disables the jerk, throws him over his shoulder, then drops him in the hospital's emergency room to care for his injuries. What he did learn in med school was how to describe in graphic detail just exactly how he is disabling the jerk – complete with footnotes. Four pages in and I already know that Peter Brown is a really complex person. A benevolent beast?

Many authors – and almost all first time novelists – build a character slowly, page-by-deliberate-page. Don't get me wrong. Brown is much more than is revealed in that first scene. His back story and current situation only get more and more complicated. However, that initial glimpse of a man who could be so street savvy and strangely compassionate at once teases at someone with a real tale to tell. Here Bazell shines in the very best tradition of fiction writing – or any type of writing for that matter. He doesn't tell us about Brown's past and that he marches in the direction of his own unique moral compass. No, sir. Bazell draws a picture, a vignette, in which Brown acts in such a way that the reader can't help but summon any number of suppositions about why this man acts the way he does in this situation. We want to know more. Even if it isn't all peachy pleasant to ponder, even if some of the humor does make us wince while we guffaw.

Peter Brown, aka Pietro Brnwa, aka Bearclaw, is a Polish/Italian mixed breed Jew who describes himself as "brutal and stupid-looking." Once inside the corridors of Manhattan Catholic (trust me; not a good place for sick people) he hooks up with a hot young pharmaceutical salesperson, scores some drugs off her that will keep him awake and looks in on a patient who had obviously died on the previous shift but whose demise no one bothered to note. He also receives orders to check on a new patient, Mr. LoBrutto, who has a particularly malicious case of stomach cancer. When he does he learns that LoBrutto is really a guy he used to know named Eddy Squillante – a mob guy who not only has a grudge against Brown but knows plenty of other mob guys who also feel they have a score to settle with "Bearclaw." This is not so good.

Turns out Peter Brown was once Pietro Brnwa before he ratted out on certain members of the mob and sought safety under the witness protection program. He subsequently put himself through medical school and began atoning for the sins he had committed as a mob hitman. But the reasons he became first a hitman and then a doctor go back to grandparents who raised him after his parents took off for parts unknown. The pair – he, a doctor, she, a housewife -- were Holocaust survivors who came to the United States and had settled into a nice middle class life raising their grandson only to be cruelly slaughtered in an act of random brutality. Pietro was fourteen at the time. When the police came up dry on suspects Pietro decided to take matters into his own hands.

Relying on a certain amount of New Jersey street smarts he manipulated the system until he became the ward of a mob family, the parents of his best friend, Skinflick. Once "on the inside," so to speak, Pietro began making inquiries, ultimately locating and dispatching the gangster wannabes who had killed his grandparents. Having shown a certain gift, if you will, for jobs like this he was soon called upon to carry out other, similar, mob-related assignments. It was a job he did competently and it paid well. Eventually certain incidents related to both his deceased grandparents and his beloved girlfriend caused him to turn state's evidence and begin a new life; a life that now hinges on the survival of a man with a terminal illness. Because as soon as Squillante recognizes Brown he notifies his mob associates, instructing them to "take care of" Brown in the event of his death.

In between dodging bad guys Brown tries to keep up his hospital rounds and patient care while becoming more and more sleep-deprived and even more "upper" drug dependent. Things become increasingly zany to the point where he notes that, "you may have taken things too far…when you're holding a knife you've just made out of your own shinbone." Oh, yeah. Beat the Reaper is just that gritty. But it is testament to Bazell's skill that he can deliver a message of personal responsibility and accountability while making readers simultaneously cringe and cackle.

Reviewed by Donna Chavez

This review was originally published in February 2009, and has been updated for the September 2009 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.