Beyond the Book: Background information when reading Beat the Reaper

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Beat the Reaper

A Novel

by Josh Bazell

Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell X
Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2009, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2009, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

The United Partisan Organization
In Beat the Reaper the fictional Peter Brown/Pietro Brnwa recounts the story of how his grandparents met in the winter of 1943 when they joined the Jewish resistance movement in Poland, hiding out in the Bialowieza Forest. According to Brnwa family legend the young couple (they were both fifteen at the time) were duped into going back to Krakow in order to save her brother from the Nazis. It was a ruse and they were sold into Auschwitz. They survived because both were sent to work in the manufacturing part of the famed death camp. In one of the more poignant passages of the book Brown tells about when, as an adult, he made a trip to Poland to seek out the man who had betrayed his grandparents and, while there, he visited Auschwitz.

Although he doesn't say one way or the other, the group in the Bialowieza Forest might have been part of a larger resistance organization that was founded in the ghettos of Vilna (now Vilnius, Lithuania) by a young, charismatic Jew named Abba Kovner. Called United Partisan Organization-Fareinikte Partisaner Organizatzie - F.P.O. - it was formed in early 1942 and its motto, taken from a speech made by Kovner, was, "We will not go like sheep to the slaughter."

According to the Holocaust Research Project, "One of [FPO's] key goals was to establish ties to the Soviet resistance in the city and the forests. Kovner also sent emissaries to the Warsaw and Bialystok ghettos to warn the inhabitants about the mass killings of Jews in the occupied Soviet Union and to incite resistance."

While tens of thousands of ghetto Jews were being rounded up and summarily murdered by German troops, Kovner's resistance fighters did their best by sabotaging German military trains and equipment transports. They helped hundreds escape "through the city's sewers and other outlets to the Rudniky forests where they joined Soviet partisans in many combat missions. There Kovner and his followers operated a partisan division comprised solely of Jews, and performed many heroic acts of sabotage."

While the F.P.O. achieved their aim of not going like sheep to the slaughter, they were unable to defeat their Nazi tormentors; but there is information about a lesser known post-war group supposedly called Nokmim (Hebrew for avengers) that attempted, and in many cases succeeded, to retaliate for the millions of Jewish deaths. While many believe at least part of Nokmim's membership comprised former members of the British military's Jewish Brigade, there is some speculation that Kovner was instrumental in this group as well. It is an interesting story that highlights the conflict between justice and Old Testament eye-for-an-eye revenge. Regardless, it is fact that several hundred – of the purported several million – Germans who participated in the deaths were dealt with either en masse (in 1946 nineteen hundred Nazi prisoners of war were poisoned by arsenic in their bread) or were hunted down and then simply disappeared or "committed suicide." The Jewish Brigade's activities spanned the globe for decades after the war ended.

The Bielski Brothers
A group similar to FPO was led by the Bielski Brothers in the forests of Belarus.  Their story is told in Peter Duffy's 2003 book The Bielski Brothers and in the movie Defiance, released in January 2009.

Images: Undated photos of Abba Kovner (1918-1987) from holocaustresearchproject.org

Article by Donna Chavez

This article was originally published in February 2009, and has been updated for the September 2009 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.