Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews Tinkers by Paul Harding

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Tinkers

by Paul Harding

Tinkers by Paul Harding X
Tinkers by Paul Harding
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2009, 192 pages

    Paperback:
    Jan 2009, 192 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Stacey Brownlie
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Winner of the 2010 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction: A meditation on the private geography of the mind

Tinkers is a small book, flush with long sentences; a novel of spare plot, but grand and intricate ideas.  It deserved my full reading attention, and as a result it served as a kind of antidote to the fast-paced skimming sort of reading that I perform each day via the computer screen.

On the surface Tinkers, Paul Harding's first book, is the tale of an average man's final days. George Crosby, surrounded by loving family in the home that he built, is experiencing the last hours of life and memory as his body methodically fails him. The ministrations of George's relatives and wife fade from his consciousness as the hours pass and he is transported to places from his past as he re-lives vital pieces of his life, most often meditating on his stark and anxious childhood in West Cove, Maine. These childhood scenes focus sharply on George's stifled remembrances of his epileptic father, Harold, who disappeared from the family while George was still a youth. George's knowledge of his father is truncated, but the reader is privileged to be shown Harold's life beyond this departure and to discover that Harold and George are still connected, though not physically or even consciously, as father and son.

Being privy to the interior thoughts of both George and Harold made me feel intimately acquainted with them. I found myself reflecting on their lives and accomplishments as if they were real. Both men are prone to flights of fancy: Harold's are most vivid before a seizure and George's becoming stronger as he grows closer to death. Many of these fantastical musings are rooted in the natural world. The mysteries of nature seem to echo, or perhaps refocus, questions both men harbor about their fathers and the meaning of their brief lives.

Paul HardingThe author's fondness for paragraph-long sentences and stretched-out streams of interconnected, yet separate, observations demand concentrated periods of reading. The compact subject matter also encourages extended reading sessions: if I tried to read a few pages of Tinkers between other activities, I found that the journey on which I was accompanying George was fragmented and the narrative's mood and momentum were broken. As I slowed my racing mind, the juxtaposition of utter realism and surreal imaginations worked beautifully together, creating a remarkable, unified story.

Tinkers is a skillfully written novel. It succeeds in demonstrating that our daily, microcosmic lives contain vastness and fantasy. This book offers its reader a meditation on the private geography of the mind and, through Harding's characters, a glimpse of our own efforts to piece together the broken and mismatched elements of human relationships and existence.

Interesting Links:

  • An April 2010 article in the Boston Globe about how Tinkers went from noble obscurity to a Pulitzer Prize with the help of a handful of ardent advocates; and another similar article in the interview with Paul Harding at Powell's Bookstore in January 2009
  • A short article in the New York Times from 2007 about the publisher of Tinkers, The Bellevue Literary Press, located on the top floor of New York's Bellevue Hospital, America's oldest public hospital.

Reviewed by Stacey Brownlie

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in January 2009, and has been updated for the April 2010 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Horology, the art of time

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Tinkers, try these:

  • The General and Julia jacket

    The General and Julia

    by Jon Clinch

    Published 2024

    About this book

    More by this author

    Ulysses S. Grant reflects on the crucial moments of his life as a husband, a father, a general, and a president while writing his memoirs and reckoning with his complicated legacy in this epic and intimate novel from the author of the "masterly" (The New York Times Book Review) novel Marley.

  • Held jacket

    Held

    by Anne Michaels

    Published 2024

    About this book

    More by this author

    A breathtaking and ineffable new novel from the author of the international best sellers Fugitive Pieces and The Winter Vault—a novel of love and loyalty across generations, at once sweeping and intimate

We have 9 read-alikes for Tinkers, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Paul Harding
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.