BookBrowse Reviews Tinkers by Paul Harding

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Tinkers

by Paul Harding

Tinkers
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2009, 192 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2009, 192 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Stacey Brownlie

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Winner of the 2010 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction: A meditation on the private geography of the mind

Tinkers is a small book, flush with long sentences; a novel of spare plot, but grand and intricate ideas.  It deserved my full reading attention, and as a result it served as a kind of antidote to the fast-paced skimming sort of reading that I perform each day via the computer screen.

On the surface Tinkers, Paul Harding's first book, is the tale of an average man's final days. George Crosby, surrounded by loving family in the home that he built, is experiencing the last hours of life and memory as his body methodically fails him. The ministrations of George's relatives and wife fade from his consciousness as the hours pass and he is transported to places from his past as he re-lives vital pieces of his life, most often meditating on his stark and anxious childhood in West Cove, Maine. These childhood scenes focus sharply on George's stifled remembrances of ...

Interesting Links:

  • An April 2010 article in the Boston Globe about how Tinkers went from noble obscurity to a Pulitzer Prize with the help of a handful of ardent advocates; and another similar article in the interview with Paul Harding at Powell's Bookstore in January 2009
  • A short article in the New York Times from 2007 about the publisher of Tinkers, The Bellevue Literary Press, located on the top floor of New York's Bellevue Hospital, America's oldest public hospital.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.