BookBrowse Reviews Firmin by Sam Savage

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Firmin

by Sam Savage

Firmin by Sam Savage X
Firmin by Sam Savage
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Jan 2009, 176 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Allison Stadd
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A tale for anyone who has ever feasted on a book…and then had to turn the final page

Though bite-size, this first novel by Sam Savage is mouth-wateringly creative, clever, unconventional and entertaining. Firmin the Rat was born in the basement of a bookstore, and from thenceforth constructs his entire schema of the world both around him and within him in terms of literature. His imagination is as wild as the author's, taking Firmin on flights of fancy that encapsulate the reader in a fantasy land that is hard to tear away from. He takes us around the world to cities like Paris, inside the intimate relationships of Hollywood stars such as Ginger Rogers, into the brains of literary greats including F. Scott Fitzgerald, and everywhere in between.

Bibliophiles will love the many references to classic literature, ranging from Shakespeare to Hemingway to Dickens to Byron. But the story, peppered with laugh-out-loud humor and raw emotion, is also great fun for less broadly read readers.  At times, the reader even questions whether or not Firmin is actually a rat, or whether he is a human who, in his constantly churning mind, imagines himself in the guise of a rodent.

The lack of dialogue, the absence of which can sometimes weigh down a novel, completely works in Firmin as the rat conducts an ongoing monologue which provides us with a vivid picture of his life and surroundings. We become experts in the character of Firmin, as well as his companion and caretaker Jerry and the bookshop owner Norman Shine, whom we always see from above, staring down at his bald pate - because this is how Firmin observes the goings-on of the bookshop from his vantage points in the ceiling.

Savage's sketch of the deteriorating Scollay Square in Boston, tying in its historical destruction to make way for modernizing renovation and revamping of the city, anchors us in a realistic time and place. This combination of fantasy and plausibility is what makes the novel so special; the fact that readers can get on board with an animal narrator and trust him, love him and champion his efforts, is a true testament to Savage's gift as a writer. It would seem that Savage also did extensive research on rats' behavior, which makes Firmin's humanization less child-like and more applicable to an adult novel, with its wry undertone of sarcasm and ironic humor.

Firmin is the kind of debut novel that exemplifies an author's raw creativity and passion for the art of writing, as much as the story. All readers will want to take a bite, both figuratively and literally, out of this page-turner.

About the Author

Sam Savage is a native of South Carolina now living in Madison, Wisconsin. He received his bachelor and doctoral degree from Yale University where he taught briefly, and has also worked as a bicycle mechanic, carpenter, commercial fisherman, and letterpress printer.

Firmin was first published by Coffee House Press in 2006 with limited distribution. It is reprinted by Delta, an imprint of Bantam Books, part of Random House.

Reviewed by Allison Stadd

This review is from the January 21, 2009 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher


    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.