Sam Savage biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Sam Savage

Sam Savage

Sam Savage Biography

Sam Savage was a native of South Carolina who lived in Madison, Wisconsin. He received his bachelor and doctoral degree from Yale University where he taught briefly. He also worked as a bicycle mechanic, carpenter, commercial fisherman, and letterpress printer.

After receiving his Ph.D. in the field of computer science from Yale University in 1973, Sam spent a year at General Motors Research Laboratory, and then joined the Management Science faculty of the University of Chicago Graduate School of Business. In 1985 Dr. Savage led the development of a software package that won PC Magazine's Technical Excellence Award in 1986. Since then, Sam worked to bring analytical tools to managers in an algebra free environment. In 1990, Sam moved to Stanford, where he taught Management Science in the Engineering School. He was also a Visiting Professor at Northwestern University's Kellogg School and the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey, and was appointed to the position of Senior Associate of the Judge Business School at the University of Cambridge.

Publications include articles on The Flaw of Averages in the San Jose Mercury News, and Harvard Business Review, and Accounting for Uncertainty, in the Journal of Portfolio Management. Dr. Savage consulted and lectured extensively to business and government agencies and served as an expert witness. Harry Markowitz, Nobel Laureate in Economics, has called Dr. Savage's book and software, Decision Making with Insight, "a Must Read."

In 2006, Dr. Savage founded ProbabilityManagement.org with colleagues Stefan Scholtes of Cambridge and Daniel Zweidler of Shell, to promote a unified approach to enterprise wide risk modeling. Dr. Savage was also founder and president of AnalyCorp Inc., a firm that develops executive education programs and software for improving business analysis.

He was the author of a number of novels, including The Criminal Life of Effie O., Firmin, The Cry of the Sloth, Glass, The Way of the Dog and It Will End with Us; also a short story collection, An Orphanage of Dreams. He died in January 2019 aged 78.



This bio was last updated on 01/23/2019. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Sam Savage at BookBrowse
The Cry of the Sloth jacket Firmin jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Sam Savage but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Sonny Brewer

    Sonny Brewer

    Sonny Brewer is the author of the novels, The Poet of Tolstoy Park, A Sound Like Thunder, Cormac - The Tale of a Dog Gone Missing, and The Widow and the Tree. Brewer also edited the anthology series Stories from the Blue Moon... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Firmin

    Try:
    The Poet of Tolstoy Park
    by Sonny Brewer

  • Robert Hellenga

    Robert Hellenga

    Hellenga grew up in Three Oaks, Michigan, a typical Midwestern small town, but spent summers in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, where his father, a commission merchant with a seasonal business, handled produce that was shipped there ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Firmin

    Try:
    Philosophy Made Simple
    by Robert Hellenga

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher


    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.