Summer Sale! Save 20% today and get access to all our member benefits.

BookBrowse Reviews Cutting For Stone by Abraham Verghese

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Cutting For Stone

by Abraham Verghese

Cutting For Stone by Abraham Verghese X
Cutting For Stone by Abraham Verghese
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2009, 560 pages

    Paperback:
    Jan 2010, 560 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucia Silva
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


One of BookBrowse's Top 3 Favorite Books of 2009, a novel set in Ethiopia and America in the latter part of the 20th century

As a bookseller, I live for novels like Cutting for Stone - big, fat, beautiful novels as beguiling and enchanting as babies, as wise and as generous as old sages. They are the bread-and-butter novels I can't wait to sell, the books people talk about all year long, the books they buy for their sisters and fathers, the book they press into the hands of friends with insistent, almost violent exhortations. Read this. You will love it. You HAVE to read this book. I talk about these books in the plural, as if there are scores of them, but while their iconic status is great, their numbers are few. They don't come along every season, or even every year, but I wait for them, hoping every third book I read will be the one, that one single book that makes my heart leap every time I know someone else is going to get to read it, too. And so, let me be the first, but certainly not the last to tell you: Read this book. You will love it.

Abraham Verghese's gorgeous prose forms an intoxicating synergy with his sweeping, twining plot, and I was hooked from the very first page. I raced through the remaining 500, and then couldn't bear to turn the last few. The story begins like a sudden storm and channels into a swift current that's difficult to emerge from: I stayed up through the wee hours, and polished off this hefty book in just two long nights.

Cutting for Stone is about all the giant things: family, love, war, home, land, life, death, exile, brotherhood, betrayal, and faith. There are lovable mothers and fathers, telepathic twins, mysterious priests, brave nuns, despicable generals, weak giants, miracles, rock and roll, sex, food, dusty dirt roads and city streets, and countless operating rooms. Verghese's reach is vast, but the intimacy of his characters keeps the novel close, writing about the big things through tiny, intimate, emotional moments that drive to the heart of all that we find most impossible to describe.

When I originally reviewed this book last year, a few weeks before it published, I was bold enough to claim that it would go on to be named one of the best novels of 2009, not just by myself, but possibly by every book review's top-ten list, shortlisted for all of the major book awards, and decorated with Oprah's book club sticker. I may have failed at the prediction game, but I'll surely stick to the recommending game: Literally dozens of readers have returned to my bookstore (some just two days later!) to thank me for recommending Cutting for Stone, and to buy copies for their friends. And it was voted by our very own BookBrowse readers one of the top 3 books of 2009. I'll take those votes over Oprah's any day!

First Impressions
20 BookBrowse members reviewed Cutting For Stone rating it an extremely high 4.7 out of 5.0 overall - one of our highest rated of the 100+ books read to date!

Reviewed by Lucia Silva

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in February 2009, and has been updated for the February 2010 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Hippocratic Oath

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Cutting For Stone, try these:

  • The History of a Difficult Child jacket

    The History of a Difficult Child

    by Mihret Sibhat

    Published 2024

    About this book

    A breathtaking, tragicomic debut novel about the indomitable child of a scorned, formerly land-owning family who must grow up in the wake of Ethiopia's socialist revolution

  • The Monk of Mokha jacket

    The Monk of Mokha

    by Dave Eggers

    Published 2019

    About this book

    More by this author

    From the best-selling author of The Circle and What Is the What, a heart-pounding true story that weaves together the history of coffee, the struggles of everyday Yemenis living through civil war and the courageous journey of a young man - a Muslim and a U.S. citizen - following the most American of dreams.

We have 13 read-alikes for Cutting For Stone, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Abraham Verghese
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    by Briony Cameron
    Our titular heroine's story begins in Yáquimo, Santo Domingo. Jacquotte Delahaye is a young ...
  • Book Jacket: Another Word for Love
    Another Word for Love
    by Carvell Wallace
    "I write about beautiful things because I live in a country that has tried to kill me and every...
  • Book Jacket
    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson
    Michelle Collins Anderson's novel The Flower Sisters, based in part on a real tragedy that occurred ...
  • Book Jacket: Craft
    Craft
    by Ananda Lima
    You may have heard about books that are letters to God, but what about books that are letters to the...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Win This Book
Win The Bluestockings

The Bluestockings by Susannah Gibson

An illuminating group portrait of the eighteenth-century women who dared to imagine an active life for themselves in both mind and spirit.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.