BookBrowse Reviews City of Thieves by David Benioff

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

City of Thieves

A Novel

by David Benioff

City of Thieves
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2008, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2009, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Novel. A high-quality page-turner set during the World War II Siege of Leningrad

City of Thieves reads like a novelized "buddy movie" (think Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid or Thelma and Louise). This odd couple is comprised of Lev (small, dark, cowardly, morose, virginal and awkward) and Kolya (tall, blonde, handsome, funny, brash, rakish and confident), who together take what amounts to a war-time "road trip." Like movies of the genre, the principals move through scenes that are alternately tragic and exhilarating, culminating in an exciting, action-packed finish as the heroes realize their goal. It's hard not to like tales that fall into this pattern, provided they're reasonably well-done - and City of Thieves certainly is more than well-done – it's exceptional.

Benioff (who wrote the screenplay for The Kite Runner) has a great ear for dialog - Koyla and...

Saint Petersburg or Leningrad?
Saint Petersburg (map) was founded by Tsar Peter I (Peter The Great) in 1703, after he captured the land from the Norwegians during The Great Northern War (fought over the Baltic region). Peter moved his capital from Moscow to St Petersburg in 1712 and it continued as the capital for most of the years up until 1918 when the capital moved back to Moscow. In 1914, it was renamed Petrograd as Saint Petersburg was perceived as too Germanic. Then in 1924, to honor the recently deceased Soviet leader, it was named Leningrad. In 1991, the same day that the Russians held their first presidential election, a majority of voters in Leningrad voted to restore the city's name to Saint Petersburg. Today, St Petersburg is the second largest city in Russia and the northernmost ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.