BookBrowse Reviews Beijing Coma by Ma Jian

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Beijing Coma

A Novel

by Ma Jian

Beijing Coma by Ma Jian X
Beijing Coma by Ma Jian
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2008, 592 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2009, 624 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucia Silva

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Novel. A powerful act of defiance and a work of art, against tyranny and death.

How can a novel about the massacre of hundreds of people narrated by a man in a coma be beautiful, even life-affirming? Let me not mislead you; this is a painful novel, filled with brutality and horror. It would be impossible to read, were it not for the protagonist's voice, filled with the light of vivid memories and the sweet ache of youth. Beijing Coma is 600 pages of fiction based on facts too awful to bear, but the way Ma Jian tells the story makes the novel hard to put down, even when it's painful to read.

Comatose and dead to the world for ten years, Dai Wei has become little else than a collection of memories. Trapped in the prison of his body, he dives into the past and tries to make sense of his claustrophobic present. In the first part of the book he focuses alternately on his father's persecution during the Cultural Revolution and his own first loves, setting up a beautiful dialectic that remains throughout the rest of the book. As the novel progresses into a moment-by-moment account of the events in Tiananmen Square, Wei's infatuation with the three women (girls, really) whom he fell in love with and lost is at the heart of all of his memories. His focus is unwavering and his recall impeccable, the details crystalline, physical, and unexpected. Even as he shouts through a megaphone to thousands of hunger strikers in the square, he's remembering Lulu, A-Mei, and Tian Yi; he's capturing the color of light through a bead on one's necklace, of the way another holds a pen, of the pumpkin seed caught in another's teeth.

Glimpses of the events in Tiananmen Square begin to increase in frequency until they take over, slipping the reader into a minutely detailed recounting of the six weeks Wei and his fellow university students spent in protest. These kids are less hard-core revolutionaries expecting to die than young, naive, impassioned hopefuls wrapped up in something that becomes much bigger than they could have ever imagined, much more terrifying than they'd ever feared. Just a week before they were struggling to finish their theses, get laid, make travel plans for the summer -- but they're also students who stayed up through the night to finish a forbidden copy of Freud's The Interpretation of Dreams, who wore out a smuggled recording of a Beethoven concerto in just a week. Like most 20-year-olds, their emotions are bursting at the seams and their passions ride high as they face struggles both real and unimaginable. As protesters, they're disorganized, their collective voice scattered and divided, their aims unclear, and the in-fighting and power struggles among them threaten to destroy their movement at every turn. As Wei remembers through the distance of years he asks, "What was wrong with our generation? When the guns were pointing at our heads, we were still wasting time squabbling among ourselves. We were courageous but inexperienced, and had little understanding of Chinese history".

Wei's focus is physical, filled with scent memories, vivid details of the body, and intimate remembrances that become engrossing and addictive, and help create the light that illuminates this dark history. As awful history continues to be made around him, he reveals the mind of a tender, careful observer, and a sharp analyst of Chinese oppression. As author Ma Jian remarks, "The act of remembering gives life its meaning. It is an act of defiance against tyranny and death."

Imagine a lone copy of the beautifully jacketed Beijing Coma - now banned in Ma Jian's home country - laying in the middle of the 100 acres that make up Tiananmen Square: A fitting monument, a powerful act of defiance and a work of art, against tyranny and death.

Reviewed by Lucia Silva

This review was originally published in July 2008, and has been updated for the June 2009 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.