BookBrowse Reviews Lush Life by Richard Price

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Lush Life

A Novel

by Richard Price

Lush Life
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2008, 464 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2009, 464 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucia Silva

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Richard Price tears the shiny veneer off the 'new' New York to show us the hidden cracks, the underground networks of control and violence beneath the glamour

 Lush Life reads like a giant, sprawling episode of your favorite fast-talking police procedural, with type breaks and metaphors standing in for jump cuts and sweeping crane-mounted pans across the city skyline. Much more in line with The Wire (for which Richard Price wrote several episodes) than Law and Order, Price is obviously concerned with deeper ideas about the nature of the city,  gentrification, and the intersections of race and class, and Lush Life both succeeds and suffers for it. Many readers will come to this novel wanting Price to walk a fine line, hoping to find either a masterful work of crime fiction that transcends the genre or a finely crafted novel shot through with a thrilling dose of crime drama. Despite all the rave reviews in major publications, I can't help thinking that readers from both camps are going to be disappointed. I know ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.