Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews My Mistress's Sparrow Is Dead by Jeffrey Eugenides

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

My Mistress's Sparrow Is Dead

Great Love Stories, from Chekhov to Munro

by Jeffrey Eugenides

My Mistress's Sparrow Is Dead by Jeffrey Eugenides X
My Mistress's Sparrow Is Dead by Jeffrey Eugenides
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2008, 608 pages

    Paperback:
    Jan 2009, 600 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucia Silva
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Short Stories. 'Read these love stories in the safety of your single bed. Let everybody else suffer'

When was the last time you read Chekov, Faulkner, Joyce, and Nabokov all in one week? Maybe in college. But certainly not Lorrie Moore, Raymond Carver, Grace Paley, and Denis Johnson, too? If it all sounds like a discordant, overwhelming combination of writers, I'm here to tell you it's decidedly not. Like a great mixtape, My Mistress's Sparrow is Dead is a conceptually coherent and artfully conceived gathering of pieces, curated with deep passion for its parts, but also with a concern for how it resonates as a whole. Jeffrey Eugenides picks both the orthodox (Chekov's The Lady With the Little Dog and Raymond Carver's What We Talk About When We Talk About Love) and the unexpected (How to Be An Other Woman by Lorrie Moore; Red Rose, White Rose by Eileen Chang; and Something That Needs Nothing by Miranda July) and spans over a century in his selections, making this not only a great collection of love stories, but more importantly, one of the greatest anthologies I've ever read. It's also worth noting that the book is beautifully designed and bound, and all proceeds go directly to fund the free youth-writing programs offered by 826 Chicago (see sidebar).

Surprisingly, My Mistress's Sparrow is a fluid read. Eugenides takes great care with the order of these 27 stories, considering how the style, plot, tenor, and gravity of each will play against the ones that follow and precede it. The table of contents will make readers wonder how one could possibly follow up James Joyce's The Dead with a gritty story by Denis Johnson, but reading them in their intended order erases any doubt. Following Nabokov's lushly musical prose in Spring in Fialta ("amethyst-toothed lumps of rock and the mantelpiece dreams of seashells", or "a melancholy brigand hawking local lollipops, elaborate-looking things with a lunar gloss") is Lorrie Moore's clean, searing wit in How to Be An Other Woman ("When you were six you thought mistress meant to put your shoes on the wrong feet. Now you are older and know it can mean many things, but essentially it means to put your shoes on the wrong feet.") The worlds don't blend, the language doesn't marry or meld, and it's that careful sequencing, a deep breath between each story, that allows the reader to look up for a moment and then dive in to the next one. The result is exhilarating and eye-opening, as Eugenides invites us to read authors we might not pick up otherwise, and to read them in a new context, making even the oldest stories new again. Chekov fans aren't typically cruising The New Yorker for a new story by Miranda July – and vice-versa – but chances are by the end of this book you'll have acquired several new additions to your old favorites on the shelf. (I bought three books after reading the first three stories.)

With his artful editing, Eugenides has conquered one of the biggest problems of the short story collection. Reading anthologies can often be a dust-collecting, bedside-lingering process. Usually grouped by time period, nationality, publication, or award, they often serve primarily as a reference, introduction, or catalog, and editors are careful to make their personalities invisible. This makes them useful, reliable, and enjoyable for their parts, but unremarkable as a whole. My Mistress's Sparrow is exactly the opposite. It's not intended as a comprehensive survey of the greatest love stories of all time. Nor is it a treatise on love, as Eugenides warns in his excellent introduction. ("Please keep in mind: my subject here isn't love. My subject is the love story.") Instead, these are the selections of a reader; an impassioned, expert, committed, and discriminating reader; one who remembers that the best kind of reading comes from picking favorites.

Reviewed by Lucia Silva

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in February 2008, and has been updated for the January 2009 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked My Mistress's Sparrow Is Dead, try these:

  • What Becomes jacket

    What Becomes

    by A.L. Kennedy

    Published 2011

    About this book

    More by this author

    Powerful and funny, intimate and profound, the stories in What Becomes capture the spirit of our times with dark humor, poignant hopefulness, and brilliant evocation of contemporary social and spiritual malaise.

  • The Ada Poems jacket

    The Ada Poems

    by Cynthia Zarin

    Published 2010

    About this book

    A dazzling story of obsessive love emerges in Cynthia Zarin's luminous new book inspired and inhabited by the title character of Nabokov’s novel Ada, or Ardor: A Family Chronicle, who was the lifelong love of her half brother, Van.

We have 12 read-alikes for My Mistress's Sparrow Is Dead, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Jeffrey Eugenides
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...
  • Book Jacket: Somehow
    Somehow
    by Anne Lamott
    Anne Lamott knows a thing or two about love. In fact, there is so much of it exuding from her essay ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Wings Upon Her Back
    by Samantha Mills
    Faith is a delicate thing. At its best, it can offer peace in times of crisis. At its worst, it can ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.