We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

BookBrowse Reviews The Ghost by Robert Harris

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Ghost

by Robert Harris

The Ghost by Robert Harris X
The Ghost by Robert Harris
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2007, 335 pages

    Paperback:
    Aug 2008, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa A. Goldstein
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A dark, tortured man with haunting secrets in his past – secrets with the power to alter world politics. Secrets with the power to kill

The reader is drawn in from the very first sentence: "The moment I heard how McAra died, I should have walked away." It's a good predictor of the rest of the book, which is to say that it's entertaining and well written. Yet for a much-hyped thriller, some of the thrill is missing.

The story, set in the modern age of terrorism, is slow-paced, yet learning along with the narrator piques our interest, and Harris's simple yet engaging prose marked with occasional wry humor keeps things moving along. Still, it's not until the final third of the book that the pace really picks up. There are only a couple of major plot twists, and they're almost predictable for those of us who are paying close attention.

We join the narrator – the ghostwriter of Adam Lang's memoirs – as he attempts to unravel several mysteries surrounding Lang. Why is his past so murky? Did he really order the torture of four Pakistani men, resulting in a prosecution for war crimes? Why did McAra die, and what's so important about his version of Lang's memoirs? The ghostwriter soon finds himself embroiled in this political intrigue – just as new to him as it is for us.

Set mostly in Martha's Vineyard, with the occasional London and New York scenes, Harris' descriptions lend a realistic feel to the book. To wit: "The primary colors of the port were gray and white – gray sea, white sky, gray shingle roofs, white clapboard walls, bare white flagpoles, jetties weathered blue-gray and green-gray, on which perched matching gray-and-white gulls. It was as if Martha Stewart had color coordinated the whole place, Man and Nature. Even the sun, now hovering discreetly over Chappaquiddick, had the good taste to shine pale white."

Ironically, the ghostwriter is anonymous; his name is never revealed. Nor is much disclosed about Lang's term as Prime Minister; it's only the repercussions of his actions that seem to matter. Interestingly, in his prior life before becoming a bestselling novelist, Harris was a political commentator with close associations to the Labour Party and Tony Blair. Harris fell out with Blair over the dismissal of one of Blair's right hand men and the invasion of Iraq. Thus, the real mystery emerges: Who is the Ghost in the title? Adam, the ghostwriter, or perhaps the author himself?

Reviewed by Lisa A. Goldstein

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in November 2007, and has been updated for the September 2008 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Ghost, try these:

We have 7 read-alikes for The Ghost, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Robert Harris
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.