BookBrowse Reviews Blonde Faith by Walter Mosley

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Blonde Faith

by Walter Mosley

Blonde Faith by Walter Mosley X
Blonde Faith by Walter Mosley
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2007, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2008, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kathy Pierson

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Easy Rawlins comes home from work and finds more trouble on his doorstep in a day than most men encounter in a lifetime ....

The many fans of Ezekiel "Easy" Rawlins are sure to be satisfied with this tenth novel in the series. From the opening pages of Blonde Faith, continual problems assail Easy and those he loves, but this "unwilling detective" maintains steady focus as he searches for answers in the neighborhoods of south-central Los Angeles. The interconnected story arcs evolve and intertwine against a 1967 backdrop of civil injustice, Vietnam fallout, and rampant racism. Forceful personalities and frequent plot twists combine easily in Mosley’s smooth narrative about the inner and outer trials of this melancholic, reluctant hero. Love, longing, loneliness, and broken memories are as much a part of his life as criminal investigations, gunshot trajectories, and speeding automobiles. The author’s ear for dialogue and vernacular is very good, and the flowing prose style makes reading a pleasure.

For readers who may not be familiar with earlier books by this prolific and awarded writer, be assured that Blonde Faith can also be enjoyed as a standalone mystery. It's true that at times, because of Easy’s wide social ties and past successful cases, a new reader can feel like the only guest at a party who doesn’t already know everybody there. However, the narrator resolves this potential pitfall by repeatedly providing history, back stories, and context whenever Easy’s old friends, enemies, and acquaintances appear.

In keeping with the genre of "private eye" protagonists, Ezekiel is intuitive, intelligent, and omniscient – sometimes to the level of fantasy, like an all-knowing, middle-aged black superman. He is a tough street killer with a sensitive heart; a man of learning haunted by his choices; a recovering alcoholic, and a ready lover with absolutely no need for Viagra. The innate complexity and roiling conflicts in his work are a key part of the interest, and make the strong, brooding Easy Rawlins an admirable and memorable character.

Reviewed by Kathy Pierson

This review was originally published in November 2007, and has been updated for the August 2008 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.