Walter Mosley biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Walter Mosley

Walter Mosley

How to pronounce Walter Mosley: First syllable rhymes with those

Walter Mosley Biography

Walter Mosley's books have been translated into at least twenty-one languages. His popular mysteries featuring Easy Rawlins and his friend Raymond "Mouse" Alexander began with Devil in a Blue Dress. It was published by W.W. Norton in 1990, and was nominated for an Edgar. The TriStar film, "Devil in a Blue Dress," produced by Jonathan Demme, directed by Carl Franklin, and starring Denzel Washington and Jennifer Beals was released in the fall of 1995 and garnered critical acclaim and many awards. Others in the series, A Red Death and White Butterfly were also nominated for several awards. Black Betty and A Little Yellow Dog were New York Times bestsellers.

The independent Black Classic Press located in Baltimore, Maryland published the prequel to the Rawlins' series in January 1997. Mosley decided to give a novel to a small black publishing house, because he felt it was important "to create a model that other writers, black or not, can look at to see that it's possible to publish a book successfully outside mainstream publishing in New York." Gone Fishin' was published in paperback by Pocket in January 1998. Audio rights went to Dove Audio and the first serial was sold to Essence.

W.W. Norton published Mosley's blues novel, RL's Dream in 1995 to critical acclaim. It was a finalist for the NAACP Award in Fiction and won the 1996 Black Caucus of the American Library Association's Literary Award. Washington Square Press published the book in paperback. In the fall of 1997, Mosley introduced a new character, ex-con Socrates Fortlow, whose move to contemporary Los Angeles infuses the episodic tales with ethical and political considerations. W.W. Norton published Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned: The Socrates Fortlow Stories, excerpts from which have been published in Esquire, GQ, USA Weekend, Buzz, and Mary Higgins Clark Mystery Magazine. One of these new stories was an O'Henry Award winner for 1996 and is featured in Prize Stories 1996: The O'Henry Awards edited by William Abraham. The collection of stories was made into an HBO/NYC and Palomar Pictures film, starring Laurence Fishburne, Natalie Cole, Cicely Tyson and Bill Cobbs. The feature, directed by Michael Apted ("Gorillas in the Mist") had a screenplay written by Mosley and premiered on HBO on March 21, 1998. The book was also awarded the Anisfield Wolf Award, an honor given to works that increase the appreciation and understanding of race in America.

Little Brown & Company published the next installment in the life of Socrates Fortlow, Walkin' The Dog in the fall of 1999. HBO once again commissioned a Mosley screenplay to be based on this new collection. Little Brown & Company also published Mosley's first science fiction novel, Blue Light in November 1998. The book was on The Los Angeles Times and San Francisco Chronicle bestseller lists and won accolades for its daring invention and vision. He was also awarded the TransAfrica International Literary Prize this same season for all of his work. In the winter of 2000, Mosley joined the list of luminaries writing for The Library of Contemporary Thought, published by Ballantine Books. His work, "Workin' on the Chain Gang" used the perspective of race history to examine the American economic and political machine. This year, The New York Times included Mosley's contribution to the newspaper's series, "Writers on Writing," in their book publication of those columns.

In 1996 Mosley was named the first Artist-in-Residence, at the Africana Studies Institute, New York University. Since that residency, he has continued to work with the department, creating an innovative lecture series entitled "Black Genius" which brings diverse speakers from art, politics and academe to discuss practical solutions to contemporary issues. Designed as a "public classroom" these lectures have included speakers ranging from Spike Lee to Angela Davis. In February 1999, W.W. Norton published the collection as Black Genius, with a Mosley introduction and essay.

His short fiction has been published in a wide array of publications including The New Yorker, GQ, Esquire, USA Weekend, Los Angeles Times Magazine and Savoy. For the latter, Mosley is publishing a story a month for the magazine's 2001 launch year. The series is called "The Tempest Tales" in homage to Langston Hughes' "Simple Stories." The American Society of Magazine Editors has honored a story he published in GQ, "The Black Woman in the Chinese Hat," in 2000; GQ is a finalist in the fiction category for the award.

In 2001 Mosley returned to the mystery world with the debut of the 'Fearless Jones' series, set in 1950's Los Angeles and introducing second-hand bookstore owner Paris Minton and his best friend, war veteran Fearless Jones, the novel is already garnering early praise.

Mosley created with the City University of New York (CUNY) a new publishing certificate program aimed at young urban residents. It is the only such program in the country. Mosley also serves on the board of directors of the National Book Awards, The Poetry Society of America, and is past-president of the Mystery Writers of America. He lives in New York City.



Partial Bibliography

Easy Rawlins
Devil in a Blue Dress (1990)
A Red Death (1991)
White Butterfly (1992)
Black Betty (1994)
A Little Yellow Dog (1995)
Gone Fishin' (1996)
Bad Boy Brawly Brown (2000)
Six Easy Pieces (2003)
Little Scarlet (2004)
Cinnamon Kiss (2005)
Blonde Faith (2007)


Socrates Fortlow
Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned (1997)
Walkin' the Dog (1999)

Fearless Jones
Fearless Jones (2001)
Fear Itself (2003)
Fear of the Dark (2006)

Stand-Alone Novels
RL's Dream (1995)
Blue Light (1998)
The Greatest (2000)
Whispers in the Dark (2000)
The Man in My Basement (2004)
47 (children - 2005)
The Wave (sci-fi, 2006)
Fortunate Son (2006)
Killing Johnny Fry (2006)
Diablerie (2008)
The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey (2010

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 07/03/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Walter Mosley Talks About 47

Among the various members of this audience there are many, many historical cultures represented. Irish Catholics, Russians, Chinese. There might be some Scandinavians or English, Japanese or Mexicans. For every group there's a culture and a history. Some of you might be well versed in the history of your people or your particular family trees. But even if the specifics of your cultural and historical heritage are not at your fingertips you know that they exist: you could call a family member or a take a class in the language that your ancestors spoke. You could get into a plane and fly to the country of your forbears' birth and find out where you came from and what impact your culture has had on the world.

Most of you take these truths for granted. Yes I'm Irish, Jewish, Norwegian, French. Now and then you see a movie like Braveheart or Mozart and have a moment of nostalgic realization. Maybe you descend from some great scientist or warlord. Maybe your great, great grandfather witnessed some important historical event.

If you're like most modern day folks you don't think about it all that much. You live today in this world. You work and love, raise children and vote...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Walter Mosley at BookBrowse
Little Green jacket All I Did Was Shoot My Man jacket When the Thrill Is Gone jacket The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Walter Mosley but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Reed Arvin

    Reed Arvin

    Reed Arvin grew up on a working cattle ranch in Kansas. He studied music in college, became a successful session musician and record producer, and toured the world with a variety of artists. He now writes full time. His first... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Fear Itself

    Try:
    The Last Goodbye
    by Reed Arvin

  • Austin Aslan

    Austin Aslan

    Austin Aslan was inspired to write his debut novel, The Islands at the End of the World, while living on the Big Island of Hawaii. He earned a master's degree in tropical conservation biology at the University of Hawaii ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    47

    Try:
    The Islands at the End of the World
    by Austin Aslan

We recommend 31 similar authors

View all 31 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hot Milk
    Hot Milk
    by Deborah Levy
    When people reach their early 20s, they often choose to go abroad – they want to get away from...
  • Book Jacket: Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    by Joy Williams
    I have to preface this review by saying that I am not a fan of religious fiction - not even books ...
  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.