BookBrowse Reviews De Niro's Game by Rawi Hage

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

De Niro's Game

by Rawi Hage

De Niro's Game
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2007, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2008, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


An explosive portrait of life in a war zone, and a powerful meditation on what comes after

Plucked from the slush pile of unsolicited manuscripts by Canadian publisher House of Anansi Press, and published in the US by Steerforth Press, De Niro's Game was a finalist for the 2006 Giller Prize and the Governor General's Award for Fiction, and the winner of the Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction and McAusland First Book Prize.

Ten thousand bombs had landed on Beirut, that crowded city, and I was lying on a blue sofa covered with white sheets to protect it from dust and dirty feet.

De Niro's Game started as a short story based on an incident Hage remembers as a child growing up in Beirut, when he witnessed other children playing Russian roulette with real guns after watching The Deer Hunter. His short story grew into a compact novel, the sort of length that many of us could happily ...

About the Author

Rawi Hage was born in Beirut and lived through nine years of the Lebanese civil war in the Achrafieh district of Christian East Beirut, the setting for De Niro's Game before emigrating to New York where he lived for several years. In 1992 he moved to Canada, where he has lived ever since. He is a writer, visual artist, cab driver and curator. His writings have appeared in Fuse, Mizna, Jouvert, The Toronto Review, Montreal Serai, and Al-Jadid. His visual works have been shown in galleries and museums around the world. He lives in Montreal. He wrote De Niro's Game in English, his third language, after Arabic and French.

"I grew up with Beirut divided. Through this novel I presented a secular element amidst all the sectarian chaos, as I think that Lebanon has maintained an understated, ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: My Name Is Leon
    My Name Is Leon
    by Kit De Waal
    Kit de Waal's striking debut, My Name is Leon, has inspired this big, long, complicated question: ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.