BookBrowse Reviews Away by Amy Bloom

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Away

A Novel

by Amy Bloom

Away
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2007, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2008, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucia Silva

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The epic and intimate story of young Lillian Leyb, a dangerous innocent and accidental heroine

How do you make a dazzling, compulsively readable novel out of such a tragic story? While a first glance at the dust jacket suggests a laborious, dirge-like read, Amy Bloom immediately takes the reader by the shoulders and spins him or her about-face from the very first page. Her style is immediate, arresting, and finely-tuned. Her sentences nail it every time, the details and tone are spot-on, and the results are by turns energizing and devastating.

As the title suggests, Away is a story of leaving. Over and over again, Lillian leaves people and places in search of a home that might not exist. Those who offer her help, lodging or work, both honorable and terrible, appear as bright flashes in a darkened room, their images burned in the reader's mind long after they've disappeared. As Lillian leaves each character behind, Bloom spins out a brief, fairy-tale-like ...

Amy Bloom is the author of two novels, two collections of short stories and one book of nonfiction. She has been nominated for both the National Book Award and the National Book Critics Circle Award and her stories have appeared in numerous anthologies.

She has written for many publications including the New Yorker, the New York Times Magazine, the Atlantic Monthly, Vogue, Slate, and Salon. A practicing psychotherapist for more than 20 years, she lives in Connecticut and teaches at Yale University.

Interesting links:

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.