BookBrowse Reviews Away by Amy Bloom

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Away

A Novel

by Amy Bloom

Away by Amy Bloom X
Away by Amy Bloom
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2007, 256 pages

    Paperback:
    Jun 2008, 256 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucia Silva
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The epic and intimate story of young Lillian Leyb, a dangerous innocent and accidental heroine

How do you make a dazzling, compulsively readable novel out of such a tragic story? While a first glance at the dust jacket suggests a laborious, dirge-like read, Amy Bloom immediately takes the reader by the shoulders and spins him or her about-face from the very first page. Her style is immediate, arresting, and finely-tuned. Her sentences nail it every time, the details and tone are spot-on, and the results are by turns energizing and devastating.

As the title suggests, Away is a story of leaving. Over and over again, Lillian leaves people and places in search of a home that might not exist. Those who offer her help, lodging or work, both honorable and terrible, appear as bright flashes in a darkened room, their images burned in the reader's mind long after they've disappeared. As Lillian leaves each character behind, Bloom spins out a brief, fairy-tale-like story of his or her fate that leaves the reader breathless, moved, and deeply satisfied. It's a device that could easily wear itself out by the second chapter, but instead reads fresh and unexpected each time.

On a purely formal level, Away is stunning, and succeeds as a gleaming showcase for Amy Bloom's considerable talents. However, what makes Away an up-all-night read is its vitality, the breath that makes it all come alive. It’s a tight story – 235 pages span three years and a cast of characters each worthy of their own novel; but the focus is clear - Bloom’s spotlight pans where it needs to, and then stops on a dime, showing you where to look, deep at the quick of the story, where it pulses with life.

Amy Bloom is the author of two novels, two collections of short stories and one book of nonfiction. She has been nominated for both the National Book Award and the National Book Critics Circle Award and her stories have appeared in numerous anthologies.

She has written for many publications including the New Yorker, the New York Times Magazine, the Atlantic Monthly, Vogue, Slate, and Salon. A practicing psychotherapist for more than 20 years, she lives in Connecticut and teaches at Yale University.

Interesting links:

Reviewed by Lucia Silva

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in September 2007, and has been updated for the July 2008 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Yiddish Theatre in America

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Away, try these:

  • Harmony jacket

    Harmony

    by Carolyn Parkhurst

    Published 2017

    About this book

    More by this author

    From the New York Times bestselling author of The Dogs of Babel, a taut, emotionally wrenching story of how a seemingly "normal" family could become desperate enough to leave everything behind and move to a "family camp" in New Hampshire - a life-changing experience that alters them forever.

  • The Virgin Cure jacket

    The Virgin Cure

    by Ami McKay

    Published 2013

    About this book

    More by this author

    From the author of the number one Canadian bestseller The Birth House comes the story of a young girl abandoned to the streets of post-Civil War New York City.

We have 12 read-alikes for Away, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Amy Bloom
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

BookBrowse Sale!

Join BookBrowse and discover exceptional books for just $3/mth!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Fraud
    The Fraud
    by Zadie Smith
    In a recent article for The New Yorker, Zadie Smith joked that she moved away from London, her ...
  • Book Jacket: Wasteland
    Wasteland
    by Oliver Franklin-Wallis
    Globally, we generate more than 2 billion tons of household waste every year. That annual total ...
  • Book Jacket: Disobedient
    Disobedient
    by Elizabeth Fremantle
    Born in Rome in 1593, Artemisia Gentileschi led a successful career as an artist throughout the ...
  • Book Jacket: Valiant Women
    Valiant Women
    by Lena S. Andrews
    When Peggy Carter first appeared on the screen in Marvel's Captain America, my reaction was, "Oh, ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Fair Rosaline
by Natasha Solomons
A subversive, powerful untelling of Romeo and Juliet by New York Times bestselling author Natasha Solomons.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Wren, the Wren
    by Anne Enright

    An incandescent novel about the inheritance of trauma, wonder, and love across three generations of women.

  • Book Jacket

    Digging Stars
    by Novuyo Rosa Tshuma

    Blending drama and satire, Digging Stars probes the emotional universes of love, friendship, family, and nationhood.

Win This Book
Win Moscow X

25 Copies to Give Away!

A daring CIA operation threatens chaos in the Kremlin. But can Langley trust the Russian at its center?

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A M I A Terrible T T W

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.