BookBrowse Reviews Delirium by Laura Restrepo

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Delirium

A Novel

by Laura Restrepo

Delirium
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2007, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2008, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

A passionate, lyrical, devastating tale of eros and insanity set against the backdrop of 1980s Colombia

 Delirium, Restrepo's sixth novel to be published in English (the translation is by Natasha Wimmer who also translated The Savage Detectives), has already won the 2004 Premio Alfaguara in Spain, the 2006 Grinzane Cavour Prize in Italy, and was short listed for the French Prix du Meilleur Livre Etranger (best translated fiction).  The story is told from various points of view; we hear from Aguila, Agustina's mild-mannered "husband", who returns home to find his wife deranged; we also hear from the gangster Midas, Agustina's former lover; we travel back two generations to see through the eyes of Agustina's German grandfather, Nicolás; and, of course, we hear Agustina's story, sometimes told in the first person, sometimes in the third, as she drifts between the past and present. 

The setting is Bogota, capital of Colombia, in the early 1980s...

About Pablo Escobar (1949 - 1993)
Drug lord Pablo Escobar began his life of crime while still in school; by the early 1970s he was involved in the cocaine trade.  Together with a half dozen other "entrepreneurs", Escobar formed the infamous Medellin Cartel that eventually controlled 80% of the cocaine shipped to the USA.  This made him one of the wealthiest, most powerful, and most violent criminals of all-time (Fortune magazine named him one of the ten richest people on earth).  According to Biography.com, "his rise to infamy cost the lives of three Colombian presidential candidates, an attorney general, a justice minister, more than 200 judges, dozens of journalists, and over 1,000 police officers".  Escobar was shot to death by members of a special police unit in 1993.

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.