Beyond the Book: Background information when reading Delirium

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Delirium

A Novel

by Laura Restrepo

Delirium by Laura Restrepo X
Delirium by Laura Restrepo
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2007, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2008, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to Delirium

Print Review

A Short History of Colombia
About twice the size of Texas with a population of 44 million, Colombia is located just south of Panama (map).  ith a per capita GDP of $8,400, 49% of the population live below the poverty line. . From 1510 the area that is now Colombia was part of the Spanish empire until a nine year uprising led by Simon Bolivar resulted in the formation of Gran Colombia in 1819, encompassing what is now Colombia, Ecuador, Panama and Venezuela.  In 1830, Venezuela and Ecuador became separate nations, leaving the remaining territory as the republic of New Granada. 

In 1886 Colombia became a single republic following the anti-federalist revolution of 1885.  In 1899 civil war broke out killing as many as 100,000.  In 1903 the republic of Panama, with the support of the United States, declared independence from Colombia.  In return for recognizing Panama's independence in 1914, Colombia received rights in the Canal Zone and the payment of an indemnity from the USA; following this the country enjoyed over thirty years of relative peace.  However, riots broke out in 1948 following the assassination of President Jorge Eliécer Gaitán, which led to 10 years of civil war that cost hundreds of thousands of lives. 

Colombia's economy began to recover in the early 1970s with economic diversification, but through the 70s and 80s the illegal drug trade grew steadily with drug cartels amassing vast amounts of money, weapons and influence.  In addition, leftist guerrilla groups grew in strength which led to considerable violence.  Although the notorious Medellín drug cartel, led by Pablo Escobar, was broken in 1993, drug traffickers and guerrilla groups remained active, perpetuating the instability.  In 1998 Misael Pastrana was elected president, promising to work with both leftist rebels and right-wing paramilitary leaders but, despite ceding a sizeable chunk of Columbia to rebel control as a goodwill gesture, the rebels continued to mount attacks and the government's energies were diverted by a recession and a major earthquake. 

In 2002, Álvaro Uribe Vélez won the presidential election and promised to crack down on the leftist rebels. Violence has been decreasing since 2002, but insurgents continue attacks against civilians and large swaths of the countryside are under guerrilla influence. The Colombian Government has stepped up efforts to reassert government control throughout the country, and now has a presence in every one of its municipalities. However, neighboring countries worry about the violence spilling over their borders.

This "beyond the book article" relates to Delirium. It originally ran in June 2007 and has been updated for the March 2008 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Feast Your Eyes
    Feast Your Eyes
    by Myla Goldberg
    Myla Goldberg's latest novel, Feast Your Eyes, is ostensibly about the works of fictional ...
  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.