BookBrowse Reviews Bird of Another Heaven by James Houston

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Bird of Another Heaven

by James Houston

Bird of Another Heaven
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2007, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2008, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

From the author of Snow Mountain Passage comes an engaging new novel, set in both our time and the late nineteenth century

Loosely inspired by the visit of David Kalakaua the last King of Hawaii, to San Francisco, Houston tells of Nani Keala, the King's lover. Nani's story plays out against the backdrop of the Californian Gold Rush and the annexation of Hawaii by the USA. Through her life we are introduced to a full cast of 19th century Californian and Hawaiian historical characters including John Sutter, founder of Sacramento, and David Kalakaua, known as the the "Merrie Monarch"; we see what life was like on the missions and rancherias in California, explore Hawaiian traditions such as hula and get a fly on the wall view of Hawaiian court intrigue.

A parallel story rests on the popular contemporary theme of discovering ones roots, and explores how ...

Background: When Houston was researching Snow Mountain Passage, about the Donner Party and the 19th century settlement of the American west, he came across references to Hawaiian sailors who helped John Sutter build his fort in the Sacramento Valley, a first destination and resting place for the trans-continental wagon trains. Houston became fascinated by the idea that, at the time these early wagon parties were making their way across the Sierra Nevada Mountains, Hawaiians were already in California (along with Chinese, Mexicans and, of course, the native tribes who'd been in the region for thousands of years). He came across oral interviews and other sources that told of a mixed-blood woman (part white, part Indian, part Hawaiian) who was the daughter ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.