James Houston biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

James Houston
Photo © Jana Marcus

James Houston

James Houston Biography

James D. Houston is the author of eight novels, including Bird of Another Heaven and Snow Mountain Passage. His non-fiction works include Farewell to Manzanar, co-authored with his wife, Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston - a true account of her family's experience during and after the World War Two internment, it is in a 67th printing from Bantam Books and a standard work in schools and colleges across the country.

He was born in San Francisco, where his parents settled after migrating west from Texas during the Depression of the l930s. At San Jose State College he studied drama and met Jeanne, whose parents had reached California from the opposite direction, crossing the ocean from Japan. In his writings, as in his personal life, these histories have intermingled. From his coastal vantage point, he has been able to look both ways, eastward across the continent, and farther west, toward the shores and islands of the Asia/Pacific region.

Jim and Jeanne were married in Honolulu in 1957, and from there moved to England while he served for three years as Information Officer with a Tactical Fighter-Bomber Wing. In 1959 his first published story appeared in the London literary journal, Gemini. Another early effort won that year's U.S. Air Force Short Story Contest.

After traveling extensively in Europe - to Belgium, France, Germany, Spain, Scotland, Scandinavia, and the Soviet Union - he returned home to pursue an M.A. in American Literature at Stanford. He studied with Wallace Stegner, critic Irving Howe, editor Malcolm Cowley, and the Irish short story master, Frank O'Connor. Four years later he returned to Stanford as a Stegner Writing Fellow. While there he sold his first novel and completed his second, Gig, which won the Joseph Henry Jackson Award for Fiction.

Since 1962 he and Jeanne have lived in Santa Cruz, within view of Monterey Bay, where they raised their three children, Corinne, Joshua and Gabrielle. For several years he made his living as a musician, teaching classical and folk guitar, and playing acoustic bass in a piano bar and in a bluegrass band. In l969, after teaching for a year at Stanford, he began teaching writing part-time at the University of California's Santa Cruz campus, an arrangement that continued for over twenty years, interspersed with visits to such campuses as the University of Hawai'i, the University of Oregon, the University of Michigan, and George Mason University in Fairfax, Virginia. In spring 2006 he returned to his alma mater, now San Jose State University, to hold the prestigious Lurie Chair, as Distinguished Visiting Professor in Creative Writing.

A frequent visitor to Hawai'i, he has traveled widely in the Pacific Basin. In 1993 he was invited to Okinawa to lecture at the University of the Ryukyus. In 1998 he served as a Smithsonian Lecturer for the Cunard Lines' South Pacific Cruise to the Marquesas, Fakarava, Tahiti, Tonga and Fiji. His often anthologized stories and essays have appeared in such publications as The New York Times, The New Yorker, Rolling Stone, GQ and Ploughshares.

He died in April 2009 at his home in Santa Cruz, California. The cause was complications of lymphoma, said his wife, Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston. He was 75.

Partial Bibliography

Novels

  • Between Battles (1968)
  • Gig (1969)
  • A Native Son of the Golden West (1971)
  • Gasoline (1980)
  • Love Life (1985)
  • Continental Drift (1996)
  • The Last Paradise (1998)
  • Snow Mountain Passage (2001)
  • Bird of Another Heaven (2007)

Nonfiction

  • Farewell to Manzanar, with Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston
  • The Literature of California
  • Surfing: A History of the Ancient Sport of Hawaii (1966)
  • Californians: Searching for the Golden State (1982)
  • The Men in My Life: and Other More or less True Recollections of Kinship (1987)
  • In the Ring of Fire: A Pacific Basin Journey (1997)
  • Hawaiian Son: The Life and Music of Eddie Kamae (2004)

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 04/20/2009. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

James Houston discusses Bird of Another Heaven

(below this interview is an earlier interview in which Houston discusses Snow Mountain Passage)

For the second time, you've written a novel that reaches in to the past . What relevance does historical fiction have for contemporary readers?

Reading historical fiction doesn't necessarily mean you have to leave the modern world. The story itself may be set a hundred or two hundred years ago, yet still have a contemporary resonance. I think it's a matter of perspective, the authorial perspective that is brought to the telling. In Bird of Another Heaven the narrator, Sheridan Brody, is a Bay Area talk show host and one-time student of anthropology. He is in his 30s before he discovers a previously unknown branch of his family tree, discovers an ethnic background his parents never talked about, discovers he's the great-grandson of a woman who was half California Indian and half Hawaiian. Seeking out the truth of her life puts Sheridan's own life to the test. At the same time this quest brings the late 19th century into the late 20th century.

It's another example of something I find in a lot of narratives, whether short or long: in order to get the story ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by James Houston at BookBrowse
Bird of Another Heaven jacket Snow Mountain Passage jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for James Houston but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • H.W. Brands

    H.W. Brands

    Henry William Brands was born in Portland, Oregon, where he lived until he went to California for college. He attended Stanford University and studied history and mathematics.

    ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Bird of Another Heaven

    Try:
    The Age of Gold
    by H.W. Brands

  • Alan Brennert

    Alan Brennert

    Alan Brennert was born in Englewood, New Jersey, to Herbert E. Brennert, an aviation writer, and Almyra E. Brennert, an apartment rentals manager.  He grew up in Cliffside Park and Edgewater, New Jersey, always living... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Bird of Another Heaven

    Try:
    Moloka'i
    by Alan Brennert

We recommend 10 similar authors

View all 10 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood
    Bryn Greenwood's debut, All the Ugly and Wonderful Things, is a harsh, raw, and ultimately, truthful...
  • Book Jacket: Hot Milk
    Hot Milk
    by Deborah Levy
    When people reach their early 20s, they often choose to go abroad – they want to get away from...
  • Book Jacket: Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    by Joy Williams
    I have to preface this review by saying that I am not a fan of religious fiction - not even books ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Ashes of Fiery Weather
    by Kathleen Donohoe

    "Admirers of Pete Hamill and Kate Atkinson will appreciate this gripping novel." - Library Journal

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.