BookBrowse Reviews April In Paris by Michael Wallner

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

April In Paris

by Michael Wallner

April In Paris by Michael Wallner X
April In Paris by Michael Wallner
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2007, 248 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2008, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The dramatic story of an impossible love between a German soldier and a French Resistance fighter in 1943 occupied Paris

Don't be misled by the title into thinking that April In Paris is a fluffy romance. Life and love are both battlefields in Wallner's anguished debut of wartime suspense, translated from German, which quickly embroils the reader in the tragic double-life of 22-year-old Corporal Roth.

Roth is not an heroic figure, he's not even a particularly moral or likable figure. He's simply a young man who, for a few sanity-restoring minutes, escapes his despised life as a translator posted to the Gestapo's interrogation unit, to become "Antoine", a French student, and ends up falling in love with a member of the French resistance. This relationship forces him to face an untenable moral dilemma between obedience to the Reich and following his heart, with appalling consequences.

First-time novelist Wallner paints an image of Paris facing its 3rd year of occupation that is both brutal, romantic and heart-wrenchingly sad. His descriptions of the Gestapo interrogation techniques are particularly powerful because he avoids gratuitously graphic detail in favor of understated descriptions that clearly illustrate the casual efficiency with which the Gestapo interrogators went about their business. It is one thing for a soldier to kill in the heat of battle, but quite another to observe a man coolly considering the most efficient methods to break a fellow human through torture.

If you have enjoyed books such as The Reader by Bernhard Schlink, The Swallows of Kabul by Yasmina Khadra or Sebastian Faulks' Charlotte Gray you're likely to find much to appreciate in April in Paris.

About the Author & Translator
Michael Wallner is an actor and screenwriter. He divides his time between Berlin and the Black Forest.  April in Paris, his first book, is translated into English by John Cullen who has translated more than 15 books from French, Italian, German and Spanish including Susanna Tamaro's Follow Your Heart from the Italian, Christa Wolf's Medea from the German and Yasmina Khadra's The Swallows of Kabul from the French.

This review was originally published in June 2007, and has been updated for the April 2008 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher


    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.