BookBrowse Reviews April In Paris by Michael Wallner

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

April In Paris

by Michael Wallner

April In Paris by Michael Wallner X
April In Paris by Michael Wallner
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2007, 248 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2008, 256 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


The dramatic story of an impossible love between a German soldier and a French Resistance fighter in 1943 occupied Paris

Don't be misled by the title into thinking that April In Paris is a fluffy romance. Life and love are both battlefields in Wallner's anguished debut of wartime suspense, translated from German, which quickly embroils the reader in the tragic double-life of 22-year-old Corporal Roth.

Roth is not an heroic figure, he's not even a particularly moral or likable figure. He's simply a young man who, for a few sanity-restoring minutes, escapes his despised life as a translator posted to the Gestapo's interrogation unit, to become "Antoine", a French student, and ends up falling in love with a member of the French resistance. This relationship forces him to face an untenable moral dilemma between obedience to the Reich and following his heart, with appalling consequences.

First-time novelist Wallner paints an image of Paris facing its 3rd year of occupation that is both brutal, romantic and heart-wrenchingly sad. His descriptions of the Gestapo interrogation techniques are particularly powerful because he avoids gratuitously graphic detail in favor of understated descriptions that clearly illustrate the casual efficiency with which the Gestapo interrogators went about their business. It is one thing for a soldier to kill in the heat of battle, but quite another to observe a man coolly considering the most efficient methods to break a fellow human through torture.

If you have enjoyed books such as The Reader by Bernhard Schlink, The Swallows of Kabul by Yasmina Khadra or Sebastian Faulks' Charlotte Gray you're likely to find much to appreciate in April in Paris.

About the Author & Translator
Michael Wallner is an actor and screenwriter. He divides his time between Berlin and the Black Forest.  April in Paris, his first book, is translated into English by John Cullen who has translated more than 15 books from French, Italian, German and Spanish including Susanna Tamaro's Follow Your Heart from the Italian, Christa Wolf's Medea from the German and Yasmina Khadra's The Swallows of Kabul from the French.

This review was originally published in June 2007, and has been updated for the April 2008 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...
  • Book Jacket: Where the Light Enters
    Where the Light Enters
    by Sara Donati
    In this thrilling follow-up to The Gilded Hour, doctors Sophie and Anna Savard take on a baffling ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.