Beyond the Book: Background information when reading April In Paris

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

April In Paris

by Michael Wallner

April In Paris by Michael Wallner X
April In Paris by Michael Wallner
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2007, 248 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2008, 256 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to April In Paris

Print Review

A short history of the French Resistance
France capitulated to Germany on June 25 1940 and was divided into three key zones: A German occupation zone in the north and west, a small Italian occupation zone in the southeast and unoccupied collaborationist "Vichy France" in the south (map). The French Army was disbanded except for a small force to keep domestic peace, and the French government agreed to stop members of its armed forces leaving the country and to instruct its citizens not to resist.

Despite this, some members of the French Army, led by General Charles De Gaulle, escaped to England, from where he gave his famous speech on June 18th (four days after the Nazis occupied Paris) via BBC radio, in which he rallied his countrymen to continue the fight and urged that "Whatever happens, the flame of French Resistance must not and will not be extinguished."

Initially, there were only scattered acts of sabotage easily contained by the Germans; but overtime members of the Communist and Socialist Parties (who were being hunted by the Gestapo) joined with escaped French soldiers in the forests of Vichy France where they formed into independent units. As the various organizations, known as the Marquis (mar-key), grew in strength they became more effective in their attacks on the Germans. General De Gaulle, keen to unite the different groups under his leadership, sent Jean Moulin to France to persuade the eight major resistance groups to unite, which they did at a meeting in Paris in May 1943. A month later Moulin, and a number of other key resistance figures were arrested. Moulin died as a result of torture on July 8, but the Resistance continued.

The risks were very high for those involved in the resistance and those surrounding them. Captured resistance members and those suspected of being members were brutally tortured before being executed. For every German killed by the Resistance, the Germans would kill multiple civilians, occasionally carrying out massacres of entire villages. In addition, the Vichy government established paramilitary groups who were ordered to fight the Resistance and did not hesitate to use torture on prisoners.

After the war Eisenhower wrote: "Throughout France the Resistance had been of inestimable value in the campaign. Without their great assistance the liberation of France would have consumed a much longer time and meant greater losses to ourselves."

Useful link: Sparticus.schoolnet.co.uk, a UK educational history site.

This "beyond the book article" relates to April In Paris. It originally ran in June 2007 and has been updated for the April 2008 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.