Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews The Last Empress by Anchee Min

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Last Empress

by Anchee Min

The Last Empress by Anchee Min X
The Last Empress by Anchee Min
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2007, 320 pages

    Paperback:
    Apr 2008, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A powerful revisionist portrait of one of the most important figures in Chinese history

In Empress Orchid, the first of Anchee Min's two novels about Empress Tzu Hsi the reader meets the young girl, later to be known as Orchid, and her impoverished mother, on their way to Beijing to bury Orchid's recently deceased father. Once in Beijing, Orchid learns that the young Emperor Hsien Feng is looking for brides who, to preserve the purity of the Imperial line, must be Manchurian, which she is. She is chosen and exchanges a life of poverty for the restricted life of a third-grade concubine in the Forbidden City.

Through wily maneuvering she seduces the Emperor and bares him his first son, who is five years old when declared Emperor on the death of his father. To ensure that both she and her son stay alive, Orchid, who now takes the name Tzu Hsi (meaning "kindly and virtuous"), forms an alliance with the dead Emperor's first wife so that they rule as joint regents, but Orchid must use all her skill to counter the rivals and treachery that lie behind every bamboo screen.

The Last Empress, which opens where Empress Orchid ends, lacks the compelling rags-to-riches/love story elements of Empress Orchid and tends to read like a series of vignettes not a continuous novel - probably the result of trying to squeeze nearly half a century of turbulent history into less than 300 pages. The result is a strangely dry and emotionless novel which makes it difficult to feel a connection with any of the many secondary characters because their time on stage is so short

Having said that, Empress Orchid and The Last Empress have much to offer. Not least of which are vivid details of Imperial court life and an enlightening revisionist portrait of the woman that the Western press maligned as the "Dragon Lady". If you have read and enjoyed Empress Orchid, then you should certainly continue the story in The Last Empress. If you have not read the first book it will probably take you a few chapters to orientate yourself. As usual, you can "test drive" Empress Orchid and The Last Empress to decide whether they're books for you by reading an excerpt of both at BookBrowse.


Anchee Min was born in Shanghai in 1957 during the rule of communist leader Mao Zedong. At the age of 17, she was sent to a labor camp near the East China Sea, where she endured mental and physical hardships leading to a severe spinal cord injury. She worked for three years before talent scouts spotted her toiling in a cotton field. Madame Mao, preparing to take over China, was looking for a leading actress for a propaganda film. Min was selected for having the ideal "proletarian" look. Mao died before the film was complete, and Madame Mao, blamed for the disaster of the revolution, was sentenced to death. Min was labeled a political outcast by association. She was disgraced, punished, and forced to perform menial tasks in order to reform herself. In 1984, with the help of actress Joan Chen, Min left China for America. She spoke no English when she arrived in Chicago, but within six months had taught herself the language in part by watching "Sesame Street" and "Mr. Roger's Neighborhood" on American television.

Her bestselling memoir, Red Azalea was published in 1994. Since then she has written five works of historical fiction: Katherine, Becoming Madame Mao, Wild Ginger, Empress Orchid and The Last Empress. The books attempt to re-record histories that, in Min's view, have been falsely written. "If my own history is recorded falsely, how about other people?" she asks.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in May 2007, and has been updated for the May 2008 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Dowager Empress Tzu Hsi

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Last Empress, try these:

  • Peony in Love jacket

    Peony in Love

    by Lisa See

    Published 2008

    About this book

    More by this author

    Steeped in traditions and ritual, this story brings to life another time and place – even the intricate realm of the afterworld, with its protocols, pathways, and stages of existence. Ultimately, Lisa See’s new novel addresses universal themes: the bonds of friendship, the power of words, and the age-old desire of women to be heard.

  • Mao jacket

    Mao

    by Jung Chang, Jon Halliday

    Published 2006

    About this book

    This is an entirely fresh look at Mao in both content and approach. It will astonish historians and the general reader alike.

We have 7 read-alikes for The Last Empress, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Anchee Min
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Women and Children First
    Women and Children First
    by Alina Grabowski
    After Lucy Anderson falls to her death at a high school party, no one in Nashquitten, her gloomy, ...
  • Book Jacket: Henry Henry
    Henry Henry
    by Allen Bratton
    Allen Bratton's Henry Henry chronicles a year in the life of Hal Lancaster. Readers already ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.