BookBrowse Reviews Sacred Games by Vikram Chandra

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Sacred Games

A Novel

by Vikram Chandra

Sacred Games
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2007, 928 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2008, 928 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A splendidly big, finely made book destined to dazzle a big audience

Chandra says that he set out to write a conventional thriller, "You know, the type of thing that starts with a dead body on the first page and then at the most 300 pages later ends up with everything figured out and fixed," However, as he started to research the novel by spending time with Indian policemen, crime reporters and gangsters, he realized that what seemed like a local crime "had all these connections to politics and religion and the ongoing struggles between nation-states in the region".

In short, Chandra got a sense of "this huge web of events, people, organizations and forces at work that were affecting people's lives and linking them together." and at some point he realized "damn, this is going to be big!"

Seven years later and 928 pages in length (in the English version, the ...

Incidentally, towards the end of the '90s, a huge scandal hit Mumbai which slowly unfolded to reveal a web of corrupt relationships involving organized crime and the movie dream factory of Bollywood, reminiscent of Chicago during the gangster glory days of prohibition. Violence, intimidation, money-laundering and corruption were the norm and gangster bosses were local media celebrities. This background is worth knowing because some of Chandra's more improbable plot twists did happen in real life!


Sikhs
Chandra's lead protagonist is a Sikh. There are about 23 million Sikhs worldwide, of which about 60% live in Punjab in the North of India, where they form the majority. The Punjab is known as India's breadbasket and enjoys one of the most industrialized economies in the nation. Sikhs are spread ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.