MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Beyond the Book: Background information when reading Sacred Games

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Sacred Games

A Novel

by Vikram Chandra

Sacred Games by Vikram Chandra X
Sacred Games by Vikram Chandra
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2007, 928 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2008, 928 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to Sacred Games

Print Review

Vikram Chandra was born in 1961 in New Delhi. and completed most of his secondary education at the prestigious Mayo College boarding school in Ajmer, Rajasthan. After a short stay at St. Xavier's College in Mumbai, he came to the United States as an undergraduate student. In 1984, he graduated from Pomona College (in Claremont, near Los Angeles) with a magna cum laude BA in English, with a concentration in creative writing. He then attended the Film School at Columbia University in New York.

While in the Columbia library he happened upon the autobiography of Colonel James "Sikander" Skinner, a legendary nineteenth century soldier, born of an Indian mother and a British father. This book inspired him to write his first novel Red Earth and Pouring Rain, most of which was written while he attended writing programs at John Hopkins University and the University of Houston (having dropped out of film school early) from where he earned an MA and MFA respectively.

Red Earth and Pouring Rain was published in 1995 in India, the UK and USA, and was received very well. In 1997 he published a collection of short stories, Love and Longing in Bombay, which won the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best Book (Eurasia region); was short-listed for the Guardian Fiction Prize; and was included in a number of "notable books of the year" lists.

Sacred Games was published in hardcover in India and the UK in 2006, and in the USA in early 2007. To date, Chandra's work has been translated into eleven languages. He is also the co-writer of the Bollywood movie Mission Kashmir, released in late October 2000, and has been a news anchor on Indian TV, and a computer programmer and consultant.

Chandra's mother, Kamna Chandra, has written several Hindi films and has also written plays for All India Radio. One of his sisters, Tanuja Chandra, is a director and screenwriter. His other sister, Anupama Chopra, is a film critic and senior correspondent for India Today and the author of a number of books about the Indian film industry. Vikram's father, Navin Chandra, is a retired executive.

Chandra married Melanie Abrams in late 2005. They divide their time between Mumbai and Berkeley, California, where they both teach creative writing at the University of California at Berkeley.


A Short History of Mumbai (Bombay)
The port city of Mumbai, on the West coast of India, originally consisted of a series of islands which are now joined together through reclamation. Although the area had been inhabited for many thousands of years and had been an important trading port and a center for Hindu and Buddhist culture, the city as we know it today was founded by the Portuguese around 1535 (who named it Bom Bahia, "Good Bay"). The land fell into Portuguese hands when the Sultan of Gujarat was forced to conclude a deal with them to help him defend his territory against the expanding Mughal Empire.

Bombay was ceded to Charles II of Britain in the late 17th century as part of the dowry of the Portuguese Princess Catherine de Braganza, and was promptly leased to the British East India Company* for 10 pounds in gold each year. The British East India Company undertook substantial reclamation projects to develop the modern city of Bombay and, during the 19th century, Bombay became, and continues to be, an important center of international commerce, industry and culture, despite its chronic overcrowding (a population exceeding 15 million), high crime rates and pollution.

In 1995 its name was officially changed to Mumbai (the name that had always been used by Marathi and Gujarati speakers, whereas Hindu-speakers refer to it as Bambai). Other Indian cities that have been renamed since India gained independence from Britain in the 1940s include Chennai (formerly Madras), Kolkata (formerly Culcutta) and Bengaluru (formerly Bangalore).

*The British East India Company came into being in 1599 when Elizabeth I granted the company a 21-year monopoly on trade in the East Indies, an area encompassing India and most of South-East Asia, which the Company quickly consolidated into a commercial trading venture that virtually ruled India until 1858 when it was dissolved.

This "beyond the book article" relates to Sacred Games. It originally ran in January 2007 and has been updated for the January 2008 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...
  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Small Days and Nights
    by Tishani Doshi

    A captivating and clear-eyed story of two sisters, set against the backdrop of modern India.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
American Dirt
by Jeanine Cummins

"American Dirt is a Grapes of Wrath for our times."
—Don Winslow

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.