BookBrowse Reviews Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman by Haruki Murakami

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman

by Haruki Murakami

Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2006, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2007, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

While anyone can tell a story that resembles a dream .. it's the rare artist who can make us feel that we are dreaming it ourselves. Short Stories

Murakami's last book of short stories to be published in English was After The Quake, a collection of six stories relating to the Kobe earthquake (see sidebar). His new collection is something quite different; instead of a small selection of short stories relating to one event, he presents us with 25 stories written over 25 years from 1980 to 2005, many of which have previously been published in The New Yorker, Granta and Harper's.

Although the stories are not presented chronologically, a clear progression in his writing style can be seen - from the early stories that are so surreal as to be almost indescribable, to his more tangible recent stories. It's even possible to see differences between the stories translated by Jay Rubin, as opposed to Philip Gabriel - apparently, the two translators find themselves drawn to different aspects of Murakami's work, so that ...

About The Author: Haruki Murakami was born in Kyoto in 1949 and graduated from the Waseda University, Tokyo, in 1975. He wrote his first novel, Hear the Wind Sing (1979, translated 1987) in his thirties, but his major breakthrough came in 1987 with the publication of Norwegian Wood - a coming of age story named after the Beatles' song, which differs from his other novels in that it is written in a realistic style, whereas his other novels and many of his short stories have strong fantasy elements.

He and his wife lived in Europe from 1986 to 1991, and in the USA from 1991 to 1995, where he taught at Princeton. After the Kobe earthquake and the poison gas attacks on the Tokyo subway in 1995* he returned to Tokyo to interview both attack victims and members of the religious cult Aum Shinrikyo, from which he wrote two non-fiction books. These were edited and combined...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.