BookBrowse Reviews Everyman's Rules for Scientific Living by Carrie Tiffany

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Everyman's Rules for Scientific Living

A Novel

by Carrie Tiffany

Everyman's Rules for Scientific Living by Carrie Tiffany X
Everyman's Rules for Scientific Living by Carrie Tiffany
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2006, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2007, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A rich and knowing debut novel about science, love and the limits of progress

Everyman's Rules for Scientific Living is a deceptively simple first novel narrated by Jean who meets Robert while working on board the Better Farming Train as a seamstress educator. Robert's ideology embodies the spirit of the train, and of the era - he is convinced that science can conquer all and before long the newly-weds are setting up home in the Mallee (see sidebar) so that he can prove his theories in this particularly unforgiving landscape. Before long the cracks in his ideology begin to show, theory is one thing, the Mallee is another.

Throughout, Tiffany (an agricultural journalist living in Melbourne) explores the themes of man against nature, and the nature of man against man, but she also captures a big slice of social history, illustrating the incredible hardships of the time - the great depression, extensive years of drought, the memories of one war still present and the impending onset of another - stories that are at one level uniquely Australian but at another level, totally universal.

If you've enjoyed books such as Water for Elephants or The Worst Hard Time this could be one for you.

Did you know?
The British government's efforts to educate farmers spawned the longest running soap opera in history, a BBC radio show. The Archers first went on air in 1951, and still broadcasts for 15 minutes a day, 6 days a week to this day dispensing useful nuggets of farming information along with its long running storyline.

It's not just British farmers that the BBC educates via the radio. Back in 1994 the BBC World Service started to broadcast a radio soap opera to Afghanistan called New Home, New Life , the show weaves together tales of love, comedy and human suffering along with tips on animal husbandry. An estimated 35 million people listen to each show!

Talking of BBC Radio; BBC Radio 4 offers a tremendous variety of radio plays, book readings (usually abridged from the original) and discussion on every topic under the sun. Most of the programs are stored online so if it's not convenient to listen live you can enjoy the recordings anytime in the week following broadcast. For example, this week's "Book at Bedtime" is Engleby by Sebastian Faulks, the Book of the Week is Peeling the Onion by Gunther Grass, and the Afternoon Reading is a series of five crime stories written by leading women writers.

This review was originally published in August 2006, and has been updated for the July 2007 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.