BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

BookBrowse Reviews The Inside Ring by Mike Lawson

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Inside Ring by Mike Lawson

The Inside Ring

by Mike Lawson
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  • First Published:
  • May 1, 2005
  • Paperback:
  • Aug 2006
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A witty, lightning-read set in Washington D.C. Thriller/1st Novel

From the book jacket:: From a bluff overlooking Georgia's untamed Chattooga River, an assassin fires three shots. The President of the United States is wounded; his best friend and a Secret Service agent are killed. Days before, General Andy Banks, the Secretary of Homeland Security, received a note with a dire warning which he immediately passed to to Secret Service Director, Patrick Donnelly, who proceeded to ignore it.

Now, Banks is determined to dig a little deeper. He turns to the Speaker of the House, John Fitzgerald Mahoney. The Speaker has an under-the-radar, go-to guy he uses for things like this - things he can't afford to have connected to his office. The guy is Joe DeMarco, an honest lawyer with a sordid family history.

After one meeting with Banks, DeMarco realizes he's in way over his head. But Mahoney finds the prospect of taking down Donnelly irresistible and sets DeMarco on a trail that twists through the Secret Service, the FBI, and the Department of Homeland Security, and snakes all the way back to one of the more enduring mysteries of the twentieth century.

Comment: Conspiracy theorists and lovers of quality thrillers rejoice! There's a new player in town in the form of Michael Lawson.

Lawson says that when planning this, his first book, he decided a number of things.  First he wanted to have the same series lead through a  number of books so that he wouldn't have to invent new characters for every book and so that he could set all the books in Washington D.C. because he loves the city, has lived and worked there and understands "a bit about how the government works from my former career."  He also decided that the world of fiction didn't need another detective or cop protagonist so came up with the idea of DeMarco, a lawyer and average guy who works for the Speaker of the House of Representatives.  However, the most important reason for setting his series in Washington D.C. was because he "could pick up a paper any day of the week and read about the shenanigans taking place in Washington and get an idea for a plot for another novel!"

Selected Review:
"[A] tight and engaging story, sharp writing and dialogue that's good to the last line." - Kirkus.

This review was originally published in The BookBrowse Review in June 2005, and has been updated for the August 2006 edition. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Inside Ring, try these:

  • The Sadness of the Samurai jacket

    The Sadness of the Samurai

    by Victor del Arbol

    Published 2012

    About This book

    A betrayal and a murder in pro-Nazi Spain spark a struggle for power that grips a family for generations in this sweeping historical thriller.

  • A Spy by Nature jacket

    A Spy by Nature

    by Charles Cumming

    Published 2008

    About This book

    More by this author

    Alec Milius is young, smart, and ambitious. He also has a talent for deception. He is working in a dead-end job when a chance encounter leads him to MI6, the elite British Secret Intelligence Service, handing him an opportunity to play center-stage in a dangerous game of espionage. In his new line of work, Alec finds that the difference between ...

We have 6 read-alikes for The Inside Ring, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Mike Lawson
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Early Sobrieties
    Early Sobrieties
    by Michael Deagler
    Dennis Monk is sober now, and he expects some applause. Or at least some recognition that he's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

At times, our own light goes out, and is rekindled by a spark from another person.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.