BookBrowse Reviews The Inside Ring by Mike Lawson

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Inside Ring

by Mike Lawson

The Inside Ring by Mike Lawson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2005, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2006, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A witty, lightning-read set in Washington D.C. Thriller/1st Novel

From the book jacket:: From a bluff overlooking Georgia's untamed Chattooga River, an assassin fires three shots. The President of the United States is wounded; his best friend and a Secret Service agent are killed. Days before, General Andy Banks, the Secretary of Homeland Security, received a note with a dire warning which he immediately passed to to Secret Service Director, Patrick Donnelly, who proceeded to ignore it.

Now, Banks is determined to dig a little deeper. He turns to the Speaker of the House, John Fitzgerald Mahoney. The Speaker has an under-the-radar, go-to guy he uses for things like this - things he can't afford to have connected to his office. The guy is Joe DeMarco, an honest lawyer with a sordid family history.

After one meeting with Banks, DeMarco realizes he's in way over his head. But Mahoney finds the prospect of taking down Donnelly irresistible and sets DeMarco on a trail that twists through the Secret Service, the FBI, and the Department of Homeland Security, and snakes all the way back to one of the more enduring mysteries of the twentieth century.

Comment: Conspiracy theorists and lovers of quality thrillers rejoice! There's a new player in town in the form of Michael Lawson.

Lawson says that when planning this, his first book, he decided a number of things.  First he wanted to have the same series lead through a  number of books so that he wouldn't have to invent new characters for every book and so that he could set all the books in Washington D.C. because he loves the city, has lived and worked there and understands "a bit about how the government works from my former career."  He also decided that the world of fiction didn't need another detective or cop protagonist so came up with the idea of DeMarco, a lawyer and average guy who works for the Speaker of the House of Representatives.  However, the most important reason for setting his series in Washington D.C. was because he "could pick up a paper any day of the week and read about the shenanigans taking place in Washington and get an idea for a plot for another novel!"

Selected Review:
"[A] tight and engaging story, sharp writing and dialogue that's good to the last line." - Kirkus.

This review was originally published in June 2005, and has been updated for the August 2006 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

Education is the period during which you are being instructed by somebody you do not know, about something you do ...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.