BookBrowse Reviews The Inside Ring by Mike Lawson

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Inside Ring

by Mike Lawson

The Inside Ring by Mike Lawson X
The Inside Ring by Mike Lawson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2005, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2006, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A witty, lightning-read set in Washington D.C. Thriller/1st Novel

From the book jacket:: From a bluff overlooking Georgia's untamed Chattooga River, an assassin fires three shots. The President of the United States is wounded; his best friend and a Secret Service agent are killed. Days before, General Andy Banks, the Secretary of Homeland Security, received a note with a dire warning which he immediately passed to to Secret Service Director, Patrick Donnelly, who proceeded to ignore it.

Now, Banks is determined to dig a little deeper. He turns to the Speaker of the House, John Fitzgerald Mahoney. The Speaker has an under-the-radar, go-to guy he uses for things like this - things he can't afford to have connected to his office. The guy is Joe DeMarco, an honest lawyer with a sordid family history.

After one meeting with Banks, DeMarco realizes he's in way over his head. But Mahoney finds the prospect of taking down Donnelly irresistible and sets DeMarco on a trail that twists through the Secret Service, the FBI, and the Department of Homeland Security, and snakes all the way back to one of the more enduring mysteries of the twentieth century.

Comment: Conspiracy theorists and lovers of quality thrillers rejoice! There's a new player in town in the form of Michael Lawson.

Lawson says that when planning this, his first book, he decided a number of things.  First he wanted to have the same series lead through a  number of books so that he wouldn't have to invent new characters for every book and so that he could set all the books in Washington D.C. because he loves the city, has lived and worked there and understands "a bit about how the government works from my former career."  He also decided that the world of fiction didn't need another detective or cop protagonist so came up with the idea of DeMarco, a lawyer and average guy who works for the Speaker of the House of Representatives.  However, the most important reason for setting his series in Washington D.C. was because he "could pick up a paper any day of the week and read about the shenanigans taking place in Washington and get an idea for a plot for another novel!"

Selected Review:
"[A] tight and engaging story, sharp writing and dialogue that's good to the last line." - Kirkus.

This review was originally published in June 2005, and has been updated for the August 2006 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.